You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Secrets to be successful in steemit. Carla Gonzalez.

in #steemit7 years ago

Ohh, okay wow. Thank you for this. Makes me feel better to know that it is regulated. Is that part of the witness job does? Or is it automatic?

I guess like all things in life, you must experience it in order to grow! That's awesome that Steemit was able to survive the inflation that occurred last year. I wonder why people didn't abandon ship at that point... or did it hurt Steemit? Well... the graph you gave me looks like all currency went through this high and then drop from July to September 2016.

I'll also have to take a look at the FAQ, very helpful tool.

Sort:  

Most of the rules are regulated by the code that each node runs and all these nodes have to be in consensus for the block chain to work! This means that a witnesses can't change the fundamental rules, just by themselves. I'm not really that knowledgable about the steemit blockchain (yet), so I'm basing this a lot on my understanding of how bitshares works.

But there are a few things that they are responsible for and one of these is providing a 'price feed' for the price of steem, derived from prices on external exchanges. This is required for the automatic sell feature for SBD in the wallet.

However, from time to time, the powers that be - developers, steemit, witnesses, im not sure entirely - decide that it would be a good thing to change some of the rules. This occurs with something called a 'hard fork'. You may have heard about the recent hard fork (HF19), which changed way voting worked so that it was linear instead of quadratic, among other things :)

ahhh yes. I was a part of Steemit when HF19 occured, and suddenly we were all swimming in dough... :P The more I chat with you, the more I feel you should run! It would be awesome! You are able to explain it in simple terms.... for peeps like me :) Are you a big fan of Bitcoin? My best friend in college loved Bitcoins, and he would always chat with me about Bitcoin. (this was before it got popular). He always tells me to hold on to my bitcoins, because they will be worth millions one day. The future currency!

Hey thanks! Yes, I remember when we just switched over to HF19, and suddenly I was able throw around $100 upvotes like confetti! Haha... maybe it was because something like the reward pool got reset when they did the HF which meant it was giving more than it should have done until the algorithm eventually equalised properly (or something). And, of course I'm into bitcoin, although actually not holding any at all right now :). if it hadn't been into bitcoin I wouldnt have been able to make the money I did this year through trading, or buy up all that steem that I did ;)

hahah I just imagined you sitting in a pool of dollar bills and making it rain! :P Silly silly.

Ahh so you traded all of your bitcoin for Steem? Do you think Steem will out perform Bitcoin? The new currency? My friend I mentioned earlier is a diehard bitcoin fan... he use to work for a bitcoin company. So I've continue to be a bitcoin loyalist via his advice. :)

Well the crazy thing with steem is that people can award out money but it's not actually their money that they are awarding out! if it was I don't think I'd be very generous at all ...haha ;)

I used to be a bit of a diehard bitcoin fan...but then along came ethereum which does completely amazing and different things .... then once you start to have more than one asset you like it's not much of a step to just evaluating each one on its merits. A key thing people recommend when trading shares is not to have 'favourite companies', because even if it's a great it can still be overpriced and thus means you arent making the best trading decisions.

I was really expecting steem to increase due to the new number of users....but somehow it's not happened yet. Really hoping it does have some effect soon!

LOL yes you have been really generous. I appreciate it. Look at that... Steemit is changing us for the better. :) It's like Christmas everyday. I sell handmade greeting cards at the local farmers market and whenever I print out a card, I feel like I'm printing out money. Hehe. Kind of like how it is when we upvote each other.

You are so logical. Yes it is wise to not have favorite companies. I think, I am just not well versed in trading to know what to really trade. It's pretty cool that you can make a living off of just trading and curating on Steemit.

Maybe Steem fell because everyone started to trade out when it hit $2.00. I remember when Bitcoin first came about it was up and down for a long time. I'm sure in the long hull you will get your return on investment.

It all comes down to supply and demand. An equilibrium will eventually be reached at some point (the historical chart of Litecoin is a great example of one that eventually came to its equilibrium point after a huge bubble, when it then flatlined for ages (until a new speculative bubble formed)).

And there are many factor which contribute to buying vs selling presure. On the sell side there is profit taking from the recent rise, lots whales that got in early that are constantly powering down for an easy income(!), witnesses paying for server costs, and users caching out because they view the platform only as a way to earn fiat money. On the buy side, it's basically users and investors who think the value of steem should grow if the whole ecosystem grows (so just like bitcoin for example, which has no intrinsic value). Only when these opposing forces balance will we reach a stable price! :)

ahh so you are on the buy side, waiting to see it grow! Just curious, how long have you been studying crypto currency, you seem to follow a lot of trends. Do you think what happen to Litecoin would likely happen to Steem?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44