👎Why is the A$$HOLE SUCH A TROLLING @asshole !!!! 👎steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

👎I MEAN SERIOUSLY STEEMIT !!!! Who is this @asshole !?!? Im not meaning to give him anymore attention ! but i really thought he would have crawled under a rock and went away by now !!! And when is something going to be done to stop this spamming , childish behavior from continueing on by someone else !?!? He just joined in January , has only 1,000.00 in steem power so he cant cause much damage to anyone , other then he is non stop , unrelenting flagging everyones posts !!! Its getting very annoying now that he is also flagging everyones comments !!!! This looks pretty bad to anyone new that is considering joining the platform ! Why would they care to stay with all the stupid childish behavior going on !?!?!?

👎Does anyone know who he is , and why is he pissed off at everyone on steemit !? Oviously he was here before , and has returned with a new name , in fact I think he uses bots to do all the dirty work for him ! And im sure he has more then one account to help him in his pursuit of cry baby attitude ! I know of some people that have left the platform tired of it ! And said they will only return when and if this type of flagging for no reason is taken care of once and for all !


BOTH IMAGES COURTESY : Poor EXcuses.com

😉 SO COME ON DEVS @ned !!!! PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM !!! ITS NOT FUN ANYMORE , AND BECOMEING DISCOURAGEING FOR ALOT OF US , ESPECIALLY THE NEW MEMBERS ! ! THANKS !👍

⤴🆙⤴This post is 100% Steem Powered Up into my Retirement Fund Wallet ! Thanks for all the support ! ⤴🆙⤴

Thanks for Banner @son-of-satire ! My Badges @elyaque ! My Signature @merej99 ! 💙


Thank you for following my blog

All comments are greatly appreciated!
Thank you in advance for your upvotes.
Sort:  

It is indeed annoying that he started to flag comments aswell.
Oh well, this has taught me how the flagging side of Steemit works!

Yes for sure ! And its not pretty !!🙄Just noticed he flagged your coment !

I saw! Though look at the upvotes now. I think a couple of Steemians have made bots to upvote everything he flags or something...

Haha ! That would be great ! A counter attack ! Lol !😉👍😂

Yes thats great i seen that ! @klye just did a post stateing that he will be joing them on this fight against the asshole ! Its a great community ! Woot !👍😉

@anyx uses 2 accounts ( @seraph and @pfunk10 ) to automatically negate all downvotes by @asshole .

The result is, that your comment gets upvoted back to 0 and apart from the little flag-symbol, you won't have any negative effects anymore.

No harm done.

Well thats really good to know ! Thanks so much for shareing ! I guess its a temporary fix , untill the Devs figure out how to handle it ! Thanks for shareing !👍😉⤴

I don't think the devs can 'handle' this.

Upvotes and Downvotes are subjective choices.

If somebody feels like powering up an account just do downvote, then nothing can be done about it, except voting against it.

Well surely they can come up another way ! Like lowering your rep for every flag thats done for no reason ! Or as someone else mentioned putting a limit on how many flags are allowed per day ! Etc. 😉👍Any of these things would at least cut down on the abuse ! Thanks for replying !👍

None of those suggestions would work.

Note: A flag is just a vote with negative weight.

Using my steempower as I see fit, is why I bought this power.
If I can not vote the way I want, why would I invest ?

Lowering the reputation ? I don't think @asshole cares much for his reputation (?)

Limiting flags ( negative votes ) : If there was an account that posted abuse under every post, you would want to be able to flag all that abuse, wouldn't you ?

I don't see why the devs need to fix anything about this. ( And wouldn't even know how )

@asshole 's behaviour is a small annoyance and doesn't have any effect on your reputation, payout or wallet.

I think the abuse of others could be handled by each person that is being abused useing their say 1 flag to downvote it , and have cheetah and steem cleaners take care of it from there ! You shouldnt be allowed to just flag hundreds of times for absolutly no reason , while contributeing 0 to the platform ! There needs to be consequences ! Thnks for replyint!😉👍

Limiting flags ( negative votes ) : If there was an account that posted abuse under every post, you would want to be able to flag all that abuse, wouldn't you ?

Maybe accounts could be awarded one flag for each reply it gets? I know, it would probably be too complicated to implement, but not a lot of flag would be needed anyway to downvote abuse from another account to the (negative reputation) point of not seeing all of its spam or else. So I would much prefer limiting the number of flags, with still the collective good will to shut down serial abusers, than to see the stigma of flags on exemplary users. And on the other hand, considering the flags as only sucessful or not downvotes nullyfies its purpose of countering abuse, in other words it renders the flag useless (so why not add simple downvotes instead of flags?). Plus taking the position to simply ignore flags from accounts with less power isn't a solution for newcomers.

Replying here because of depth limit:

and have cheetah and steem cleaners take care of it from there !

And how exactly would cheetah and steemcleaners go about this, when downvoting is limited ?

Sorry, it just doesn't work like that.

Im just trying to figure out exactly how to explain it ! If some one says something abuseing say on my post , and I have good reason to flag him , then I will flag him once , but im not going to follow him to everyone elses post to continue flagging him ! Its up to each individual to flag him as he goes along ! This is totally different situation where cheetah and steem cleaners come in , right now though no one can flag him because nothing is being posted ! Why cant something be done for these particular types of flaggers ! ? Its hard for me to explain , i know 0 about this stuff and computers for that matter ! Thanks again !😉👍

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks so much for putting me in your tribune ! The extra exposer is much appreciated ! 👍😉

The easiest way to stop him (and other flag bots) would be to make your flagging like a negative reputation on yourself. Just a bit.
If you reach negative rep you are auto-banned.

Maybe flag power? Like a limitation on frequency or number of flags per account?

Flagging already uses up your voting power, and you are giving up a curation reward you might have got from upvoting something. So flagging already does have a cost.

Another great idea ! Mabe a combination of the 2 !? 😉👍

The more idea we put in the basket, the better!

B.t.w., I don't see the emoticons you put on Steemit. All I see are squares. I mostly use Google Chrome on a compu equipped with Windows XP when I come on the platform. Maybe that's the reason I'm blind to them. And I've never used a Steemit app on one of my mobiles (I believe there is a Steem application). I thought of mentionning it since we're on the topic of tech difficulties. :-)

Aha ! I have always just stayed logged in on my Samsung Galaxy Tab E ! Lol ! The emojis are easy to use on here it runs on Android ! I use chrome quit often as well on here ! To get pictures or memes to send to imgsafe ! Usually my emojis I use are a thumbs up , with a guy winking ! Lol ! 😂 This one is laughing his eyes out usually added when i say LOL ! Thanks for letting me know , I didnt realize some people could not see them ! 👍

These are my emojis:

smiling :-)
winking ;-)
teasing ;-P

Kind of. lol

Lol ! Thanks for letting me know how your emojis look ! Haha !😂😂😂

he only uses 1% power on the flags so that limitation is already not working

For sure its a bot flagging the posts ! Not sure about the coments 😉👍

Can a bot really flag (some) comments (but not others)? Maybe 0% SP issues or glitches from time to time...?

You can only transmit a transaction once in a block.
Also when voting you need a 3 sec. delay between your votes.

So I assume, @asshole bot doesn't handle these exceptions well and just skips the vote when this happens.

Aha ! Very interesting ! Thanks for shareing 👍😉

That makes sense and would tend to confirm it is a bot.

It's a bot, no doubt.

The owner of the posting key to that account can also make manual transactions.
But the rapid downvoting is automated.

Thanks for the confirmation , its much appreciated !👍

Thinking of it, the speed it reacts to comments, yeah no doubt.

Im not really sure how bots operate ! I do all my own curating and upvoteing 👍😉

Replying here, because of depth limit on the other comment tree.

Maybe accounts could be awarded one flag for each reply it gets?

Internally, on the blockchain, an upvote or downvote is exactly the same operation. ( just different weights )
You would have to fundamentally change what a downvote/flag is, then.

Really, I want to be able to flag any abuse, copyright issues and those sort of things - not just under my own post.

Maybe a user started spamming main posts and not replies.
You system wouldn't work then.

Humm ! This is true ! Surely there must be a way and im sure the devs will find a solution ! 👍

Maybe there should be more depth limit for comments... no, just kidding ;-P

Lately, I saw a new account that I felt was spamming other people to the effect of ''I have nothing particular to say about your post but come see my stuff''. I was tempted to flag one of these comments but since doing so on only one of those would have been kind of useless, and also because I didn't know on which post should I make the statement, I did nothing. Plus posters didn't mind the ''attention seeking only'' replies so it was surely not of my business to intervene. What I'm trying to say is: to each his own dealing with the abuse directed at itself, for the copyrights infringments we have cheetah, and for the trolls we have the group.

And theres also steem cleaners ! But he posts nothing then theres nothing to go after ! This why he only uses bots and flags , nothing more !👍but i know who were talking about ! They were constantly putting in on everyones posts in the comments section a link to go see their blog ! That was total spamming and im sure he was warned by steem cleaners to stop because it hasnt happened for a day or two now ! 👍

What I'm trying to say is: to each his own dealing with the abuse directed at itself

I f a newbie got abused by someone with more steempower, the newbies' downvote wouldn't do anything. (?)

for the copyrights infringments we have cheetah

I'm repeating myself, but: How would cheetah flag this, if downvotes were limited ?
cheetah is an account, too

and for the trolls we have the group.

And this is exactly what happened here.
There is a downvote troll and the community found a solution by upvoting everything the troll downvoted.
The problem is pretty much solved, except the flag symbol up in the corner, that seems to irritate people to a degree that totally eludes me.

Just because one person is abusing the vote system, doesn't mean we should take away the option to downvote a post.
btw @asshole doesn't gain anything by this.


I think, automated upvoting of any post by a certain author is a much bigger problem.

Great answer ! The last part had me laughing about the flag in the corner that irritates people to a degree that totally eludes you ! Lol ! Too funny !😂😂😂

Yes, a solution was found but if the troll double downs then the angel accounts must also, and we end up with 25 bot flags putted against 50 bot upvotes which is kind of ridiculous. Ok, that was kind of a slippery slope...

You're right didn't though it through and through about cheetah.

I have no idea how he does it, I'm not a developer. If he can flag posts, he can flag comments, as it turns out.

Same here, not much tech saavy. I guess @pfunk10 & @seraph are the good versions of @asshole. So it seems like from now on everybody will have 3 votes (2 up; 1 down) plus a flag for every post or comment they put out. Looks like Steemit just found itself added with another layer of complexity.

Even if so far this bot didn't cause much damage it shows a serious problem caused by the option to flag articles or comments: If for example a whale would decide to flag every article of a certain user because he doesn't like him for any reason, then this person couldn't get any rewards any longer, even if many other steemians liked his content.
In my opinion there should be a way to restrict flagging without any obvious reason. We should think about a solution here. If flags are necessary to prevent for example plagiarism the one who flags should have to present the original source. If there was an offense in the flagged article one should have to name the exact word or sentence which was abusive. If one just has another opinion than the author of an article there is no reason to flag anyway. By installing such measures it would be not so easy anymore to automate flagging.

These things already happen , but i agree something needs to be done about the ones that contribute 0 to the platform at all ! And hire bots to do all the dirty work for them for no reason at all ! Just join steemit angd flag crazy ! These are the ones that need to be taken care of , its rediculous ! Thanks for your great reply ! 👍

Haha ! Just some idiot , flagger, Troll ! Lol ! Hes nobody !😉👍

I wrote all about the @asshole "troll-bot" about a week ago when it first started...

Link: New account @asshole troll-bot flagging HUNDREDS of Steemit Posts

However, troll-bot seems to be accelerating its actions and has become much more aggressive lately, with even more frequent downvoting on posts and comments as well.

Yes I did 2 posts myself on this guy ever a week ago when he started ! Usually they get bored and move on ! I guess he has more money and time on his hands then brains ! Lol !👍😉😂

Not all bots. I am up-voting comments, I see the mark of the beast, as they get blanked with the down-vote.
I even up-vote my own comments. Which is very FB.
It is a Plague on our House. And we do need a solution.
I read a suggestion somewhere, if you down-voted you should be forced to write a non-bot .
Why I down-voted comment.

We definitly need a solution soon ! And im hopeing the devs are working on one ! Sorry i dont understand the last part of your coment !? About writing a non bot !? Thanks for your awesome reply !👍😉

I thought that a real-name only steemit would be good. Accounts like his could not exist.
We would not have double-accounts, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41