You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm almost one year old...

in #steemit6 years ago

firstly, congratulations on your 1 year anniversary on steemit. I am approx only 2 months old but agree with most of the things written in your post.

Second, this is the benefit of reading content from steemit users such as yourself. I learnt about how to go through someone's feed today and find people to follow in a much easier way so thanks for mentioning that in your post.

Lastly, I agree with the experience that you have shared. My first month was very disappointing on steemit. I was writing posts, some quality for sure, but no one was reading them and my feed was all promoted crap. I mean how many times would one want to read the same crypto news articles or watch the same videos that have been seen on youtube. and top top it all up, some content was just a joke picked from the internet, copied and pasted and awarded $50 bucks. Then there's technical chartists, one of them quite infamous for "raping the reward pool".

But during the last month i have found ways to get to the right content and the experience has been very good. It by reaching to people such as yourself and going through their content to learn about steemit and that has helped me improve what i see in m feed.

Happy to have read your experience.

Sort:  

Hi @karamyong, I appreciate your measured and candid reply. I'm going to follow your blog for a while and see how it goes. I am going to follow you because you said this (below) in your reply. I agree.

I was writing posts, some quality for sure, but no one was reading them and my feed was all promoted crap. I mean how many times would one want to read the same crypto news articles or watch the same videos that have been seen on youtube.

thank you! I have moved a lot towards interacting with people in the comments section. However I do try and write one decent article a week. The rest of the posts may be photos from my trip/3rd party video content I enjoy and do not see on steemit/or sometimes articles to participate in contests. After all I am an anchovy ;).

Us anchovy's need to stick together huh?

There's nothing wrong with a travel post or photo. I never (EVER) post an image without supporting text though. That's what Instagram and FB are for. I'm off to the UK for 6 weeks in a week or so and will travel-post along the way. Hopefully people find value in my images and text.

aah cmon man.. you're no anchovy.. :)

yeah, i just wanted to tone down your expectations of quality content. I agree, there's value in seeing good photos, plus people get to know about interesting places in a city, be it restaurants/pubs or museums. And yeah, some perspective or information is always helpful. Good luck for your trip. If its your first time, then this is a great time to come to the UK, its nice and sunny. If its not your first time, then well, i reiterate the good luck! Looking forward to your content from there.

Yep, first time to the UK. Should be good. Aussies are the most-loved people in the world so we'll be popular! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59319.27
ETH 2469.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45