Debian + Firefox + LastPass = Pain in the neck.

in #steemit7 years ago

So I've tried posting my next game a couple times now today (I've lost track).
I get to a point and Firefox locks up, crashes and restart, re-login, and poof, post gone.
Repeat once more before I start copy/pasting my words a couple more times before giving up on posting the game today.
I'll try again tomorrow, but I'll type it out in Office first, then Ctrl+C/V it in here.

OK. So LastPass is a great password manager that I have used for a few years now. It has helped me maintain passwords that are more secure than the one Steemit gives you at startup; 60+ characters, random generation, of all types, not just Caps, lower case, and numbers. I don't work for LastPass, nor to I promote it, just merely stating I use it. Please continue to use whichever one you may be using already.

My brother has experimented in the scripts and has no problem with LastPass and Firefox, but he uses Ubuntu and prefers Chrome. Unlike my brother, I don't trust Google and it does bother me about Steemit's security because it relies heavily on Google scripts; which is why I am not doing anything or getting too personal on here.

So Debian uses a Firefox equivalent called Iceweasel. Iceweasel is Firefox but scripted for Debian and runs a few versions behind the latest due to testing and additional scripting (or something like that).

When I was using Windows, I never had a problem with LastPass and Firefox; my brother has no problem with LastPass and Firefox on Ubuntu; when I use Debian and Firefox I have no issues.
However, when I use the LastPass add-on in Firefox on Debian; hell freezeth over and "Fire"fox starts to slow down and freeze. Sometimes it takes a few minutes, other times a few hours, and even once I went a whole week.

So that informs but does not adequately explain why I am taking the time to write this and not rather than writing the baord game blog...oh well. I just thought of that now.
I will try again tomorrow. Until then...

Sort:  

There are known incompatibilities between LastPass and Firefox when multiprocess is enabled. I advice you to turn off multiprocess. You could also try the LastPass add-on version hosted in their servers, instead of the one hosted in Mozilla add-ons repository. It is newer and performs better with Electrolysis.

I switched Firefox for Chromium when I saw how extremely slow Firefox on Linux is.

Chromium is "the open-source projects behind the Google Chrome browser", supposedly without Google's bad "spyware". I'm also using the LastPass extension and I'm not having any issues.

On the otherhand I also didn't have any issues with Firefox and LastPass on Debian.

Where do you get your Firefox packages? Have you tried https://mozilla.debian.net/ yet?

Thanks.
I when checking both, I came across the idea that I should update to Stretch or Testing (finally), then update everything, and then look at your suggestions.

I don't know why I wasn't paying attention to the Stretch release.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53