Thanks Steemit Community. This is a dream come true.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2116.JPG
The new MacBook Pro Steem machine.

It has been a whole day since I've made a Steemit post. This is an uncomfortably long gap in blog frequency for me.


I've been down to Tokyo and back to buy a new computer, check out some BTC friendly locations, and meet a fellow anarchist for some beers in the city.

Yesterday I wandered the twisted spaghetti underground of the sprawling Tokyo Metro and went to Ginza to accomplish my main objective for the trip: to buy the computer on which I am currently typing this entry.

When I say "dream come true" I am not exaggerating. I have been eyeing this computer for a long while now, but never knew it would soon be within my reach thanks to blogging on a blockchain-based social media site. It's truly wild, and I couldn't be happier. I just converted some Steem to Bitcoin, went down to one of the biggest electronics stores in Japan (which is currently accepting Bitcoin) and made my move. (I also bought a LEGO set for my son paid for entirely in BTC :))

Now to get back to writing. Tons of stuff to do and lots of interviews to set up here in Voluntary Japan world over the next week. Can't wait to use this beast to its full potential when it comes to higher quality content creation now! Thanks again to all those who read, comment, upvote, agree, disagree, debate, and interact/engage with this blog.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

nice computer. makes my 2009 macbook pale in comparison. congrats

That is really nice to see your steem efforts paying off in real workd. May all of our dreams come true :). In a long run we should be in a great shape. Thanks for sharing this experience. You really paid for lego with btc directly?

Congratulations on the new computer friend :) It looks beyond amazing.
Ive been thinking of buying one myself but currently my budget doesn't allow me to.
Hope you make the best of it and use it with love.
Much support from me and all the best of wishes.
Goldie

Wow congrats on achieving this truly epic dream! Who knows, soon you'll be buying your next home with cryptos! And your son his first car! Steem on @kafkanarchy84, Steem on!

Haha! That's the plan. Cheers, @adam.angel!

Say what you want about apple, there something about aesthetic and feel of a Macbook in your lap that makes you want to get shit DONE! Glad you were able to get yourself a new tool by blogging.

Congrats, Graham. Very cool. :)

Amazing that you could buy this computer. Shows 3 things - 1) Your connect and dedication to Steemit blogging - with quality blogs 2) Monetization of blogs is a reality 3) Bitcoin has acceptance in wider and wider circles now

Thanks for this inspiring post. I hope to be able to accumulate enough steem some day to buy stuff solely off my monetization of blogs. Right now I can probably afford to by a packet of pencils on my earnings :) LOL

I request you to visit my latest blogs when you have time and leave your valuable comments. I have posted a blog about a mystique boat ride on the river Ganges :) and some wildlife blogs including a winking lioness with photos taken by me accompanied by my musings about them.

(y)

A year ago, I did the same and picked up a Razer Blade Stealth. It's been my trusty steem engine ever since :)

This site is so freaking awesome, with a bunch a great people on it. I am so glad someone I know mentioned it and I saw the post. I am here more than any social media site since finding Steemit. Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25