Steemit is Connecting People in the Real World, Vol. 1

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

1E59FEF8-D76A-4A85-A64D-4F9157CD1679.jpeg

It was two summers ago now that I went down to Tokyo and met up with @cryptomancer,

one of the first Steemians I would meet in “real life.” It was such a warm experience. Meeting people who are more from your tribe...people who you don’t actually know, outside of cyberspace.

Cryptomancer bought me a sushi dinner, and we talked about our families, Steem, and crypto in general. I left Tokyo after that trip feeling more grounded, less “crazy,” and more alive. I wasn’t alone. These Steemians I talk to online are real people, and so often seem to be salt of the earth type people.

I would later meet @nicksikorski in “real life,”

after being connected with him here on Steem and on Facebook for a while. In fact, that’s where I’m headed right now, riding this nearly empty highway bus into the hills of Nagano to check out the beginnings of his new project.

E75342E0-DDB8-49D4-B50E-C16F66BC790E.jpeg
Headed to the hills on an empty bus.


Nick came to see me first in “meatspace” I believe in...February? of this year. It was great. Another salt of the earth being, looking to make this planet a more voluntary and safe place to be. A more logical and sensible place. Again, I felt connected with a member of my tribe. We anarchists aren’t crazy. It’s the coercionists that have “lost it.”

Steem City Niigata.

E912AF86-0D3C-415C-AF48-54F0324DFD74.jpeg
I’m pretty happy about what’s taking shape here in Niigata, as well. There are now five folks other than myself from the city on Steemit.com. Just last week my friend @maxinpower joined, and has been blogging like a mutha! Be sure to check him out and support his blog.

Just today another good buddy joined. Look for him in an upcoming introduce yourself post as @thediyguy. I can’t wait!!! We had some sign up problems today, but it all worked out in the end.

On top of this, we of course have my wife, @mslight2016st, the Steem veteran @boxcarblue, as well as @rawselectmusic and @musingsltd. We’ve got a veritable Steem City being built here. Guess we’ll have to organize a meetup soon.

What’s the value of this for me?


I want the world to be a safer and more fair place. Here on Steem, what you work for is what you get. Nobody can use the Steem you earn but you. There is no middleman siphoning away your financial power. This dignifies us once again as human beings, and makes us want to put forth our best efforts.

Steemit has brought something totally new into my life. The self exploration. The networking. Knowing I’m not alone in rejecting the current status quo. Exchanging value for value in the form of thoughts, ideas, and monetary compensation. Compensation for doing what I’ve always been passionate about, but never been paid for. I’m excited about this.

It’s helping me be more fully me. And more fully free. I’m hoping others can feel the same and experience more freedom, happiness, and a greater presence of something no amount of money can replace:

human relationship.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I hope to achieve what you want and travel to all countries of the world

Yeah my friend!! You rock, in many many ways!
It's always good to find some like-minded people you share similar thoughts and ideas with. And yes this Steemit platform is giving a stage to so many talented faces, who can express themselves freely.

I'm not 100% sure if Steemit is a super-fair place, all this upvote-buying thing is still a little bit suspicious to me, hard-work can be rewarded but it also seems we need to rub some bellies to get up to the surface to shine bride.

However it has been great fun for the few days I'm here and I'm planning to enjoy it even more.

Love and Respect everybody!!

Am happy that stemians are real people. I thought they were robots ha ha ha. You are lucky you met @cryptomancer and @nicksikorski. Steemit really connects @kafkanarchy

Steemit is a kind of family where we share our life with others...and meeting those cyber people physically is more joyfull..again your thought towards this universe making a beautiful place incourage us to do something for betterment of others....thank you for sharing your experience and thought....

Thank you for sharing yours.

Welcome friend...

Nice to know your thoughts taking this beautiful world... that you are looking for a fair and safer place.. I hope you will able to fulfil your dreams in one day.. Though it may be 100'/,not possible,But we can try our best to do change in some positive direction to bring fairness in society... Yes, I also feel myself happy by exchanging thoughts, views with some friends of unseen world like you also... This can be possible only the great platform of"Steemit"..Have a nice time with steemit...

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :)

Wow great experience, by meeting the real people, whom do you connect daily. Yes friend this community is great, from where you can get every drop of honey to boost your sweet life, where everything is perfect. I also have a great passion to meet you personally, I come to know many things about Japanese people and your family and also one of your friend @boxcarblue. Once your friend asked that how could I come in this community. He had said that he is also from Nigata, and also he had appreciated you.

Steemit is a community where get to know about each other culture and many more things.

A must watch, "The Salt Of The Earth"..: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3674140/

I agree with you steemit is truly a life changing experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49