My Steemit Life, ep. 2: First Night as a Bartender

in #steemit8 years ago

At Da Bar

As promised, here is episode two of my (for now) five-part series called "My Steemit Life." For the story behind how all of this got started, please see episode one here.

Riding my bike into town to my buddy's bar I was a bit nervous. I didn't know what to expect or if I would be able to keep up and do the job right.

I got there early, and talked a bit with Craig, the owner, about the job, and plants, and life, and about this four-person Chess game he and his son invented many years back. It is a nasty game, as you may imagine just from looking at it.

What makes it even nastier is that each player in the course of the game is allowed to make two deals with other players. In other words, if your friendship is not built on solid rock, don't play this game. But then again, who wants a weak-ass friendship in the first place?


4-man Chess, invented by Craig Smith, of New Zealand.


Real live hops. For anyone who has read W. Somerset Maugham's Of Human Bondage, seeing this and smelling them in real life is a real treat.

Cue the Crowd

Last night was a special game night/party night at the bar, which brought in quite a few people looking to get their game on with an assortment of games that would put your grandma's closet to shame. I didn't even know the names of half of them.

I was behind the bar with a few others and so didn't need to feel too pressured when I didn't know something. I rather enjoyed the feel of pouring booze, scooping ice, and just being on my feet learning the myriad tiny tricks and "hacks" that make bartenders, bartenders. Pour the juice upside down, that regulates the air flow. Twist the wine bottle. Mix it like this. Grab the wine glass like that. Don't get your fingerprints on it.

As someone who has been to this bar, The Local, several times as a performer and a boozer, it struck me just how different it was to be behind the bar. It was like watching a million different super in-depth mini-stories and subplots play out before my eyes. Some were happy stories, some confused, some erotic, some lonely, some comedic, some seemingly very serious...just a million different very vivid slices of life.


behind the bar


a million stories

After a few beers myself I began to tease the customers a bit and have some fun. "Dragon Lady? That's going to cost extra 'cause I have to go into the back room to get the dragon fire. It's real dragon fire." Silly shit like that. By the end of the night I am pretty sure I served the most stylish glass of water that has ever been served. Did my best MJ dance moves throughout the whole pour.


Everyone chillin' to my request from the VDJ

Well. I guess that is about it. I had a fantastic time.

I am going to be heading to Tokyo soon, so I think I will make episode three out of that. Lemme get some thoughts together and come up with a plan. Would be nice if I could spot Roger Ver and get an impromptu interview on Bitcoin and Steem. Definitely going to be picking up Bitcoin via the Takara app and will also be making my first withdrawal of Steemit earnings via one of Tokyo's seven or so Bitcoin ATMs.

Until next time...

Peace!

~KafkA


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist residing in Niigata, Japan.

Sort:  

No...It's my Steemit-Life! lol (Name) Nice post man-

Cool glimpse behind the bar, so to speak. That 4-way chess game looks quite chaotic. I used to play chess with my father a lot when I was a kid, and he'd always whip me good. I should teach my daughter how to play sometime.

Great expression you've got in the "behind the bar" pic! It's one of those "oh my God what have I gotten myself into" kind of looks. Sounds like it ended up being a good first night though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39