Long Live the Immortal Idea! An Introduction to Steemit for Beginners (FAQs, Common Critiques, Concerns, and Thoughts)

in #steemit8 years ago

Steemit is a living testimony to the fact that ideas themselves are an invaluable currency, and that the value of each idea need not be defined by an external, centralized coercive force, but instead by a free market of individuals subjectively appraising, creating, withholding and trading...value for value. In so many ways it is ideas which create reality, and not "reality" which creates ideas.

1. What is Steemit?
2. Where does the money come from?
3. What about "whales?"

Sort:  

Love the post , very educative , welcome to steemit , cheers:)

My topic for my Anarchapulco 2016 speech was "Only One Thing Has Ever Changed The World". And that, my friend, is the almighty IDEA. People act on what they believe. Change what people believe, change their actions, change THE WORLD.

Steemit is based (whether subconsciously or consciously) precisely on that sort of premise. This is also built on the tenants of basic human psychology -- what motivates us, what inspires us, what stimulates creativity.

I will be talking more about this in an upcoming Anarchast episode with Jeff Berwick, so look for it in he coming week or so!

Graham, I am impressed with your delivery and succinct explanatory style, so I believe you and Jeff and Larken and Sterlin and many others will be majorly successful here.

And I think I will be too. ;)

Viva la FREEDOM!!!

"In so many ways it is ideas which create reality, and not "reality" which creates ideas."

I believe that objective reality is likely, though I do bounce back and forth on that. But ideas do certainly shape our interpretation of reality, and do much to enact the future.

Great post :)

Great video! Thanks for tagging me on Facebook so I didn't miss it. I did a little contest on the "Where does the money come from?" question you might be interested in. Here are the entries to the #bitcoinpizza challenge. Just as you said, the money is an idea.

Great resource! Thanks Luke!

Really excellent video Graham - love your energy and enthusiasm - keep up being awesomeness ;-)

LONG LIVE THE IMMORTAL IDEA!!!!

but I wont be hearing them because I have adblock and your hosting on YT.

WHEN WILL PEOPLE START VALUING THEIR IDEAS MORE THAN WORTHLESS $$ ?

I see a lot of posts that people put a lot of work into that get hardly anything though too. I was really excited for this but I'm having a hard time working with the site. I'm really not trying to be negative, but I'm finding it very difficult to understand.

I felt the same way at first, but I'd encourage you to continue networking with people of like interest, whose content you admire, and also to try to build your following by posting only content that is unique and that you really personally are proud of (not that you already don't). Here are a couple of good vids on the topic:



Don't be discouraged. Read more about the site and how to leverage it. I am still new to this, too, so no expert.

Sterlin Luxan is extremely helpful on this, he is a friend of mine, so if someone has any direct questions for him I suggest going right to him.

thanks for the response.

I feel the same. This morning Seemit constantly returned an error message "user does not exist." Here I am though... it somehow accepted that I exist. Also, both the chat and "email us" didn't work. But this is beta. The only thing I find straightforward is posting a story.

Even that didn't work right for me. While I was constructing my introduceyourself post all my pictures showed up fine but then they all disappeared once I actually hit post and I had to add them as comments afterward.

Great video

Long Live the Immortal Idea! UPvote! Alright! Give power to all!

That was very informative, and pleasent to listen to.

  • Thanks for making this, will surely follow for more content, once I can't actually find a list where I can see the people I follow. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46