HAPPY NEW YEAR! 2018 is the YEAR OF STEEM: thoughts on appreciation, freedom, and NOW!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6625.JPG
An image I snapped this morning on my frosty walk. Welcome to Bible Belt America. Happy birthday to YOU. Happy New Year. Is not a drop of ocean water the ocean itself?

As I sit here sipping my coffee in Elizabethton, Tennessee this New Year's Day, I can't help thinking that, in a way, I don't really give a shit that it is "New Year's Day."

I think this year is gonna be great, just because I am still here, waking up this morning to a walk in the bitter cold winter air down to the McDonald's for a piping hot coffee.

This year is the year of Steem. No resolutions necessary. Just keep on pushin', hustlin', grindin' and appreciating.

So rather than fill this post up with a bunch of bullshit about resolutions, etc, here are some things I appreciate and am really looking forward to this year!

newyear2018hdanimated.png


  • The new life I have found here in the realm of crypto-blogging, creation, and anarchy, which is exactly what enabled me to take this vacation with my family this year. I have been a writer, creator, editor and anarchist (though I didn't always know it) all my life. Now I get paid for it. It's something that I always wanted. And now it's here.

  • My family is my solid rock and the grounding force in my life, as well as my inspiration in so many ways. My son and my wife are my world and I would not be where I am today without them.

  • My home in Japan waits for me now, and I can't wait to be back, if I am honest. This holiday in the US has been amazing, and is not over yet, but I am so appreciative already to have a home and a life in a place that I have come to be so fond of and call my home. Tokyo, I'll be seeing you soon!

  • The readers, commenters, and curators of this blog make it all possible. Thank you! Electricity and transmissions of information require connection. One of the biggest joys of self-expression, second to self-discovery and connecting with oneself, is the discovery of humanity and connection with others. Thank you.

IMG_6623.JPG
My brother-in-law got me and my sister laughing while trying to take a "nice" photo, and this was the result. May 2018 be filled with more laughs like this!

So why do I say 2018 is the year of Steem? Because, no matter where Steem and Steemit.com go, the idea is here, and now can never go away. A page has been turned, and we now know one more wonderful thing that is possible, in this reality. There may be a million more "Steemits" to come. Regardless, sound economics and blockchain tech are here, and folks are seeing their individual lives and experience, through a brand new set of revolutionary eyes.

We are living in a revolutionary time in "history" which is now.

GODSPEED, Steem-O's!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

OMG very interesting and inspiring post my dear friend. Yes we didn't know before that have some recognition as a writer, but here in this beautiful community we are paid for our work. Yes I completely agree that this year will be our steemit year. Thanks for great sharing, you are looking so happy in this happiest moment. Wish you and your beautiful family a very beautiful and prosperous New Year.

Thank you for your beautiful and vibrant comment, maya!

Wish you and your beautiful family a very beautiful and prosperous New Year.

I am wishing you the very same!

~KafkA

It always has been revolutionary, let us see where this one will bring us.
Gonna catch you soon brother, let us see who we can make this year even better than the one before.
Have a safe flight back!

Happy New Year my man!
Steem is going great guns now and I think 2018 will be huge for us all.
Have a great trip home buddy.

HAPPY NEW YEAR GRAHAM!

All the best to you and your family dude. I'm in Canada freezing my balls off. Morning headache as you can imagine. May you see wealth, health and stealth(!) this year and beyond. Stay kafka! Peaceee

Thank you!!!!

Happy New Year, @kaliju!

What a wonderful and encouraging post. I hope to visit Japan one day and if Steemit ever makes it possible I'll have to get some advice on where to go and what to see.

Keep on doing what your doing and looking forward to what you have to share in 2018.

yes and u say right the next year will the year of steem and also steemit and i think the next all year will the year of steem...also its more good that ur family is ur every thing specially ur son and wife and also u happy with ur sister...this is the best thougt and sure the family is our really life we also love our families and i also think the my family is my life be happy always with ur family and hope this year will bring many happines and joy with ur family and many success more than your past years....

HAPPY NEW YEAR @KAFKANARCHY

Nice movement captured @kafkanarchy.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESUS , as on the sign, is the reason for the celebration. Nice post of being thankful and looking forward to the future! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Nice post:)
Are you Japanese?

Very intersting post,you give me more motivation bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72