You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Issues within the society and economy - How Steem can help solve them all.

in #steemit8 years ago

I really appreciated the line "Steem isn't a machine. Steem is a community." I said something similar recently about the shift from being "a living cell in an organism to a working cog in a machine." I also appreciate your plug on decentralization, and even though they were simple - the images helped for visualization.

I had a long talk with friend the other night regarding the word "anarchy" and our general relationship with (and "fears" around) that word. It's fascinating to hear how peoples minds work when it comes to these issues. It's as if they are locked up. Even my closest friends, who are open hearted and willing to entertain wild ideas, they quickly dismiss "anarchy" but turn around and badmouth government regulations and rule.

As I explore the potential of Blockchain technology and Decentralization, I see how close to the heart of our problem "centralized accounting systems," actually are. But furthermore, I see how the mental schizm between these two (and more) concepts creates barrier for understanding their interplay, and ultimately effects our ideals of a lively hood in very subversive ways. Bridging this gap is vital to the (Steemit etc) enterprises.

I think that once we can simplify with words, and graphs the power of centralization enough to commoners and laymen to understand, there will be a breaking point where the illuminations goes memetic (like the 100th monkey).

I also agree with being radical, ie - getting at the roots. Homelessness and unemployment not only have deep roots, but vast branches - both tree branches that grow fruit for informing our body politic, and river branches that irrigate our thinking like "streams of consciousness."

To a certain degree I feel the nature of the problem informs our diagnosis, which is an ill effect. For instance, "create more jobs" is a credo often passionately proselytized - but it doesn't always address the roots, or heart of the matter.

As we put our attention to these issues, I think we'll start to see the long haul. I think this work is generational, and will need time to wither away. Luckily for us, (I also believe) time is speeding up. So where it may have taken 7 generations to irradiate and epidemic, it might only take 50 years.

Ultimately, I post all these words to say, thank you for your post - good work, and keep up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34