Steemit is still not multilingual / Steemit n'est pas encore polyglotte [ENG/FR]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

English is predominant on Steemit but #cn, #kr and other languages have been very active on this community. My last post got some feedback from French Steemians and the most successful of them actually write a bit in English. My posts are mainly in English. I am sure I have less than five French posts.
What can we do to promote multilingualism?

Il n'y a pas que de l'anglais sur Steemit, heureusement. Les communauté #cn et #kr sont très active. Vous pouvez voir par exemple mon dernier post en anglais/français. Malheureusement pour être un tant soit peu populaire et être lu, il faut se mettre à écrire en anglais. Cela a été mon choix dès le départ. Que pouvons-nous faire pour rendre Steemit polyglotte?

English everywhere

Yes English is the main language here. The interface is in English, the cash is in (US$$) English. You do have a lot of people trying to enjoy/participate/write/read/create/post/curate... but can't so much because of the language barrier. If I take myself as an example, I write a lot in English but French is my mother tongue so I can get the pace I want in my text easier that way.
Although I am very happy with what I achieve here, I think Steemit would be great if we internationalize our platform.

Do you speak english?La barrière de la langue est un problème ici. Difficile d’interagir sur cette plateforme sans comprendre un minimum anglais, ne serait-ce que pour savoir sur quel article voter. D'un autre côté nous sommes encore au début de Steemit. Tout reste à faire.

The threat if nothing is done/ La menace

We will loose users, like for instance with the Russian fork of Steemit.
I am afraid to see such an initiative touch #cn or #kr, which are pretty big community here.
I mean, I am actually learning Dutch, I speak some Spanish, so I would like to be able to find those articles easier. And maybe it is the same for anyone trying to learn French. But everyone decide his or her own tag so it is hard to not miss some posts.

Steemit perdra des utilisateurs. Nous avons déjà perdu la communauté russe.
Il ne manquerait plus que cela arrive avec #cn ou #kr. Ce serait bien de faciliter la découverte d'autres langues. J'ai vue passé des articles en allemand, néerlandais ou espagnol. J'aurai beaucoup de mal à les retrouver vue que je n'ai pas la moindre idée des tags qu'ils ont utilisé. Il faut un format pour que tout le monde puisse se retrouver.

My Proposal/ Ma demande en mariage Ma proposition

  • Translate the interface: just look at your data to see which country/language should be first added. Traduire l'interface du site.
  • Add/Propose a default language tag to the post submitted. This maybe can be in addition to the 5 usual tags (I personally just use 4). Ajouter un tag par défaut pour la langue du post, peut-être en plus des 5 habituels.
  • Use country top level domain for this default tag. Of course just one tag for a main language( #fr for French ...). Utiliser les extensions des sites par pays comme #fr pour le français.

So please just standardize the whole language tags so we can discover more culture on Steemit.

Merci

@jyezie
Image credits 1 2 3

Sort:  

This is one of the most important features that Steem lacks currently.

There is issue open at GitHub but so far no development has been made. Maybe devs would do something if more people demanded it?

I hope so. I just recently started to look at Steemit source code. I mean the "code is documentation" scarred me, since I am not a C++ coder. They should have another way to get the mood off the community. I hope I won't do the same post in 3 months.

Bien des propositions ont été faites depuis plus de 6 mois mais il semble que l'on applique la politique du "no government, no rules". Espérons qu'il y aura des changements.

Dans Ce cas nous allons nous retrouver très vite avec des fort dans tous les sens. D'un autre côté la communication et la documentation de Steemit n'est pas son point fort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49