Stupid Who?

in #steemit4 years ago

Moving back July 2016, 3 months after the inception of Steemit.com, I joined and started posting contents with excitement and these revealed my stupidity. How stupid I am will be disclose on this post.


Came For Money

Everybody in the platform came for money, and you are lying if youre not here for it. We are just trying to cover such desire with things going on around the community, making friends, establishing connections, and learning. Of course those things are real, we gained friends, lots of them. We gained connections from all over the world sharing different stories and interest and learn a lot of things in the process.


On that day, I slowly turn myself into a community influencer without noticing it. I begun spreading the word STEEMIT to people around me. Started from the office where I was working back then. Talk about it to my friends and family. Even talk about it to people that I do not know personally. As always, news has its wings. The simple conversation spread hastily that it reached cities.


But what does these things has to do with me being stupid?

The excitement I have with Steemit had brought me so much learning. I never miss a single post, I could not afford not to read it. Every post made me curious on what's inside especially if it talks about the development of the platform and the blockchain. Yes, I am ignorant and no nothing about blockchain and this made me keen to read every all post even if I don't understand the technicalites of it.


The post arguments during those days, I've read all of it. How can I forget the tyranny of the whales talking about how the platform should behave in order to achieve success. Improvements had been imposed that drive us to where Steemit right now.


This doesn't make sense, where is the stupidity here?

The exciting sensation I had back then with Steemit, lead me to establish a community. A community that will help spread Steemit to a wider audience and invite more people in the platform. We thought that by doing so, we will be helping a lot of Filipinos in the country who strive due to  poverty. What we didn't understand is that the money isn't free at all. 


Without noticing it, we still believed we could do it. To cut the story short, we decided to established a huge and air conditioned office funded by my earnings in the platform. I could not forget the assistance made by @dongkeypong and @ejemai. The purpose of the office is to have a place for Steemians (thats what members of the platform called back then) to gather and talk about anything. 


We started planning humanitarian programs that will be tied to LGU's in the city. We aimed to utilize the group earnings to help and fund these activities. Due to my stupidity I made them believe that I can do it. My posts started to lost momentum and reach a point that I could no longer sustain the need of the office. We shutdown the office and didn't have the chance to operate in full blast.


Mining Stupidity

My stays in the Steemit Community had thought me a lot of things and this includes blockchain mining. Yes, the ignorant and know nothing, wanted to engage in mining bitcoin and other altcoins. Getting to know with blockchain had given this thought that it can improve the lives of my family. I started researching mining bitcoin and found out that it requires mining machine. 


Started searching these machines and found Antminer sold by Bitmain. The price didn't come cheap because during those times, bitcoin is on a heights. So I decided to save and wait for the right time. Fortunately, the price of Steem and SBD went so high. The heights of SBD back then had given me enough funds to buy the first bitcoin miner, Antminer S9.


It didn't satisfied me, as the price continues to soar high, good amount of money are coming in to my wallet. It's not as good compared to what others Steemians are earning but for a poor person like me, it is very good opportunity. 


This time, I bought 2 Litecoin miner produced and supplied and Bitmain and after a month bought Siacoin miner. I have four mining machines back then. It was good from the start but what I didn't know is the difficulty rate of the blockchain. I thought that the machine can produce the same amount of minted coins for the rest of its existence. But I was very stupid to think about it that way.


It was too late for me to know that as the difficulty rises the minted coins is getting lesser. Unfortunately, due to the great number of miners are coming in, the difficuly increased so fast and my earnings drop so fast as well, until it reaches to the point that it could no longer afford to pay my electricity bill.


Now, I have the miners kept under my bed and everytime I see it, it reminded me of my stupidity. 


The Most Stupid Thing of Them All

SP is the foundation of Steemit. Every Steemians who holds it has the power and the influence within the community. Since the beginning of my Steemit journey, I may not always have the good rewards but I have gained SP as my staked in the platform. Unfortunately, since I'm stupid person and due to my family's necessity I powered it down (I did the power down thrice). It helps a lot for my family and keep on regretting why I did it.


If only I haven't done such stupid thing with my account, maybe I have around 30,000 more or less SP right now. Currently, I have around 1,000 SP. It bleeds to think that I should have a been a dolphin it not becuase of my stupidity. 


Nowadays, I seldom post on Steemit but I'm currently active in Steem-Engine communities. I wanted to come back and hope that my stupidity won't hunt me down.

Sort:  

@juvyjabian, In my opinion in your Journey nothing looks and sounds Stupid because you've went with the flow and by that i mean, you've wanted to open the office 🏢 and you've did that, yes, it's got shutdown but you've took a step with a thought that which will help you and others. You didn't wanted to power down Steem but you did that because you had to fulfill your and your family's expenses. Don't think about what you lost but think about what you lost is invested in good thing. For example, you've failed to continue that office 🏢, but by making it a reality at first place you've spread your Intention and it's a great message for the Steem Community because who knows if some random Steemian reads this blog and come up with same idea 💡 like putting a office for the Steemians and succeeds in it.

And when it comes to the Steem Power you've decided to Power Down for genuine reason and that Steem brought so much meaning to you because it served you and your family to some extent. So, in my opinion go with the flow and enjoy your Journey. At the end of the day we all have to leave this World with Empty Hands 👐. Stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for such a kind words @chireerocks

Welcome. 🙂

I totally relate, I have hemorrhaged money at every turn while watching the value of my rewards depreciate over time... I am in the hole by far more then I am willing to admit which is why I assume it’s the same for nearly everyone else...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78