You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gatekeeping Mechanism in Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Interesting post, and I agree with your analysis.

The main purpose (IMO) of curation groups right now is to help keep steem power being distributed to more users, and to build the real gate keeping mechanism of the future, your third one, individual stake holders. You are right that as the number of users goes up, curation groups effectiveness goes down. They are just a temporary stopgap to enable the real unique decentralized gate keeping mechanism which steemit will employ in the future.

Sort:  

Absoloutely , and I think steemit will achieve this when more people and investors join the platform

Either one of those two will bring the other IMO. So its only a matter of which ever one comes first. :)

Hey man I'm using science tag for social studies too hope it is appropriate because there is no other suitable tag for it lol !

Data driven discussion falls under the umbrella of science, social sciences fall under the umbrella of science, science can mean a lot of things to a lot of people. There is plenty of things that are not science, but I don't think what you are doing is by any means inappropriate.

Please give me some help. Is there a place (URL) where I can go to learn the answer to the following question: By what process is the curator function affect the distribution of steam power so as to cause it to be more widely diffused among users? Thanks in advance.

Curation (aka voting) is what determines the reward associated with each post. Most new steem goes to authors and as such curation decides just how many authors receive the newly minted (like mined) steem. I know this isn't a direct link but it's the easiest explanation.

Curation affects where the steem is distributed to, and as such is important for decentralization of the coin as it continues to grow.

Thanks. Can you tell me where to go (URL) to learn the amount of STEEM mined (new coins) every day, and stat's on what proportions of that amount tend to get paid out on average daily? I am planning to develop an estimate of the amount of new STEEM that is likely to be going out onto the crypto market for sale weekly/monthly as a result of the never-ending new coin creation process. I know that will not be the only source of sale offerings; but I just want to get a sense of how much 'sale pressure' might be coming for that source alone. The long-term price curve (i.e. since 2016) points to relentless dominance of selling pressure over buying pressure.

Everything you asked about is described in the steem white paper:

https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf

but I just want to get a sense of how much 'sale pressure' might be coming for that source alone.

Much less then comes to bitcoin every day.

The long-term price curve (i.e. since 2016) points to relentless dominance of selling pressure over buying pressure.

You need to take the initial artificial price pump out of your equation, the run of steem up to $4 was not realistic. Nor was it representative of the sites value at the time. You also cant look at things in terms of BTC relationship since btc was worth much less during that initial pump as well.

My remark about the long term price curve implies exactly what you advise me to do -- disregard the price pump. That I have done already. . I am still hoping to find the answer to my question. Can you help me find where to go to get the answer to this: how much STEEM is mined (new coins) every day, and what proportions of that amount tend to get paid out to authors and curators on average daily?

I just told you to read the white paper and linked to it. The numbers are in the document. Sheesh.

Sorry I missed your reference to the existence of the information in the White paper. I hope you're having a good day and will have a restful sleep tonight. Cheers! And NO Sheesh to you -- friendship instead, as life is so short, my dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40