How Many of You Read Posts That You Manually Upvote?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


A brief glance yesterday highlighted that about 5-15% of upvotes result in a view of a given post. This was a small sample, but scary nonetheless.

Let's be real - aren't we supposed to be upvoting quality content? How can you know if a post is of high quality without reading it? I love the idea of curation rewards, but not when it causes bad articles to go over the moon.

So my question is: how many of you actually read the posts you manually curate? Just drop a reply below, even if you don't want to use an upvote.

Image Source

Edit: If you content that you read every post i promise I'll check out your trail... And I'll follow the best of the best.

Sort:  

I actually read every post that I upvote. There's still a lot of throwaway content on Steemit. I want to ensure that my upvote, for the little that it's worth, truly goes to those working hard to make Steemit a great, informative, entertaining platform.

And that's one of the reasons I started follow you in the first place. Keep it up, I'm glad to have you around. :)

I read every post I upvote. Many of my upvotes also get resteemed because if I upvote them and they are of open source or voluntaryist nature, then I want to spread the message. It is important to me to curate the best I can.

Great point. I should make sure that i resteem the gems I DO find. Thank you!

Re-steeming also gives the potential to get more for your vote.

After review of your steems and resteems, consider yourself followed.

I've never upvoted anything which I have not read.

After HF19 I dont believe too many people will be blind-voting anymore. Voting power decreases much too quickly.

Hopefully. I assume a number of people are following curation trails, and I understand the reasons, but i think it's wise to periodically check the content in the trail.

In any case, thanks for doing things the right way! I sometimes struggle to find quality content so I'll search for comments that are high quality. If worst comes to worst and i don't have time or can't find content i shamelessly upvote my own comments, starting with the highest quality ones.

I usually read the post before upvoting. Even if my vote is only worth cents, I only vote to posts I enjoy reading myself 😀

It would be a different story in case of memes

Understandable! Thanks for being a contributor. I hope we have a day soon where there aren't hundreds of junk posts to sort through to find a few great ones!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by justinchase from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I still say you should have to go into a post before upvoting it!

I'd agree with that for a 100% upvote.

This is the sort of thing that is holding steemit back.

You...

  1. Didn't respond to my post
  2. Posted a link to something I have zero interest in
  3. Tried to get me to read your blog without engaging with me in any meaningful way

So no, I absolutely will not read your blog... at least not until you post something great or try to engage with people in a way that shows you actually care about them.

I always read before I upvote.

And i think you for that!

Interesting

I must say .....I also take great time to read an article befor I upvote and every ipvote goes with a comment relating to the article. I find the authors appreciate the effort and it also gives me more insight and experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29