The Reasons I Need a Service Animal

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

MEME2017-05-03-12-40-29.jpg

In the autumn of 2000 I was struck in the head while defending another human beings life.

After the attack I haven't been the same.

Still to the day I suffer from

  • Poor Memory Recall
  • Seizures and Tremors
  • Impulse Control
  • PTSD
  • Sleep Disruption

I need a Service Animal. It will help to have a routine, a way to communicate an issue, be able to find help in an emergency or protect me from an aggressor.


The tasks it will perform are:

  • Search and Rescue
  • Seizure Alert
  • Personal Protection

Edit:

Costs:
$300 Reservation fee
$1600 Adoption fee
$400 Gear and Manuals
$40/month Vet Care


Any advise, donation or suggestions are welcome.

I also think it would be cool if I could return the favor for someone else who needs the same kind of help in the future.

Support this platform and our community by purchasing STEEM from your wallet or exchange.



BLOCKTRADES

BITTREX

Follow Me


Screenshot_20170401-202525.png

@justinashby

Sort:  

1GvFRUdpWjspYuWp2RGBkb7ttUGEXtTtcy

I recommend you look into groups where others have SDs for PTSDs. I am pretty sure there are more tasks that you can train the dog to do to help you and they would have better advice for this. You only need one task for the dog to qualify legally as a service dog, and your seizure alert one qualifies. But neither search and rescue or protection are considered service dog tasks. Not trying to criticize you, but to help you. I know people with SDs for PTSD and there are other ways the dog helps them, beyond making them feel safe. I am pretty sure one of the tasks the one man I know of trained his dog to do was alert when he was starting to get too tense in a situation. He often got caught up in things and didn't realize himself he was getting overwhelmed until it is too late. Good luck finding an appropriate dog and doing the training. Be sure the protection training will not interfere with the dog's public access training (growling or barking are legal reasons to request an SD to leave a store or something). Also make sure it will not act aggressively if a seizure cannot be prevented and people are trying to help you. It is definitely a fine line to train, and probably very possible, although this is beyond my experience, but you want to keep these points in mind so you don't get into a situation where your dog acts aggressively towards police or paramedics in an emergency situation where you are incapacitated and has to be put down.

I really hope you are able to get the dog and that it is able to help you manage your seizures and PTSD.

True, tasks like fetching my med bag and other things are qualifiers but why stop there?

The SNR is more to expand the SD skill base and to get me out if my isolation by socializing with other trainers and SD.
Personal Protection is something to consider outside the realm of basic service. If it allows me to escape to safety then that is a plus.

A Swiss Army Dog is useful in an emergency. Being able to find help and guide them to me would be pretty nifty.

Also I can puff my chest and say that someone with disabilities is capable of doing anything.

@bex-dk, I take no offense at your care and concern. It is welcome. Thank you.

Seriously, I can totally hear the compassion in your voice. That's BA! Followed.

Of course you can do anything!! I have a border collie that I trained myself for mobility issues. And I know people through the net who have for PTSD and anxiety. I am sure you can make great articles about your journey and experiences together!!

Ooo... that is a great plan! Sweet!

Upvoted and resteemed!

Upvoted. Good luck in getting your service animals. Dogs can make amazing pets.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post received a 5% vote by @nettybot courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

dejo mi voto espero el tuyo saludos! y gracias por el blog

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78