Why I moved from IG to SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

image

And it sure isn't the money

I'd been using IG for about a year and a half before I moved to Steemit.
I have about four and a half thousand followers over there. But I was growing dissalusioned. When I started writing poetry on IG it was a buzz. I got positive feedback and it was nice. But as I started growing, I got more and more follow for follow spams. I also noticed that the shorter the piece, the more likes it got. In other words. Most of my followers were only interested in popcorn poetry. The stuff that's easy write, easy on the eyes, and doesn't take too much thinking.

![image]()

I was heading down a road I didn't want to be on.
There's also about a gazillion (not a real word) poets over there. Some very talented and some just writing drivel. But I was in the same bucket.

I was looking over ICOs one day when I came across Steemit. I did my research and loved the idea. I mean. Everything is moving towards the Blockchain. Why not a blogging site too.
So I signed up and started posting. Not expecting to make any money at all.
But then to my surprise I was getting the odd £1 here and there. Then a short horror story I wrote made £15. I know it's not a lot of money. But that's not the point. It was some money. For writing.
The fact that I got money for my writing was infinitely more gratifying than all of the likes on IG put together.

So, I bought some steem and I'm staying. Not for the money, well partly for the money. But not the quantity of money. Just the fact that my fellow steemians want to upvote and give me the odd penny here and there is awesome. But also because I'm now a minnow in a much smaller but fresher pond, and it's growing.

image

And, as always, Steem On

A.T.G

Sort:  

Good that you come here! Good luck

Thank you. You too. 👍

Instagram is getting boring as well, its just the same thing over and over again

Certainly is buddy. Thank you for reading. 👍

Great post ! hopefully steem it will be a major succes for you :) keep on writhting amazing posts and you will get there for sure ! will follow you, please update me once in a while about your progress :D

Thank you for your support @chrizbiz 👍

You've made the right choice for sure :D

Thanks @guyfawkes4-20 that's great hear. 👍

Good read! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Thank you @tbolassen 👍🏻

You're very welcome. Love the content. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49