Let's Make Sure Steemit Never Becomes Like This...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This wasn't the post I was going to make today, and I had to cut and paste my 500+ pending words into wordpad so I could share this video.

It's a true reflection on what Social Media is doing to us and finally some of these creators of social media platforms are fessing up.

To be honest I've felt this way for awhile but this video summarises a number of interviews that reinforce the notion that Social Media Platforms aren't what they seem.

Anyway here's the video so judge for yourself.

Spread the word.

Stay true to our path.

And let's make sure Steemit never heads down this road.

Sort:  

Zuck's totally knows it too. And Facebook allowing under 13's access shows how desperate this guy is to control the minds of this entire planet.
Facebook, is one big data suck and the only way they make money is to sell our data to the highest bidder.

Haven't been on fakebook in over 2 years now, I think i still have an account there, but I'll be buggered if I know the password or anything to it.

The account that I had under a nick that I used for the administration of a page I was a part of has been dead for over 2 years that I know.

What killed it for me was the sickos who were so obsessed with the "Likes" and so on... and the people without a life who literally lived there, who have lost touch with reality.

Yeah, I avoided it for a long time, until someone suggested it was good for business. I very, very rarely post anything personally, if ever.
I still have a phone, people can text or call me.

It isn't just taking data in, they are also influence, intentionally, perceptions.

They actually did studies in which they showed people happy stuff and another group sad stuff. They found people they showed sad stuff to got depressed and the happy stuff got happier.

So it is within their power to influence how you feel based on what posts make it to your front page. And what is worse, they have shown a willingness to do this.

I dunno. I have actually made friends on Facebook. I don't notice ads. I don't post much personal detail, and I pretty much only hang out in a few closed or secret groups and interact with people who generally challenge me in a healthy way. It's a tool, neutral unless you use it for evil or good.

Possible ways to ensure Steemit stays on course:

Upvote value content only.

Never vote for something because the author/creator voted for me.

Never upvote anything I write.

Unfortunately I upvoted my first 3 comments on Steemit. I thought I was voting for the posts.

Does anyone have any more ideas?

Displaying the post $amount is a feedback loop that probably isn't too healthy, especially when that STEEM price keeps going up :-D

I thought this exact same thing. It turns into a money game instead of taking the time to post good content and also spend time reading posts instead of just posting, posting and posting some more just for the rewards. Having the $ on each post is such a double edged sword. I started on here in 2016 and went off for a while due to work stress but also because you'd see many average posts getting huge amounts while mine were getting very little. Makes it you wonder if it's worth the time until I personally discovered I like to type and share as well as read other people's posts.

It's all about quality, original content. That's what will really drive the value of Steem.

Mate.. never use facebook, but missus does for keeping track of people and what not, why? because everyone else does (which is what put me off, haha). Now that I have Steemit, not going anywhere else. Cheers

It would be fine if you could just check your friends and leave, but Facebook sucks you down the rabbit hole really quickly with its notifications prompting more and more user interaction.

I closed my Facebook account about 4 years ago. When I wrote to my followers to explain why, I gave several reasons and then added, "besides, I think Mark Zuckerberg moved to the dark side".

lol. Wasn't he always on the dark side.
I remember losing a friend because I never accepted a friend request. Apparently, I had set up an account and forgot about it. Then Facebook, tried the old 'is this your friend', 'is this your friend' routine on him he said yes and I never replied.
Never heard from him since.

Have you seen the Southpark that made fun of Facebook, so good and so on point. :)

No, but I'd like to. Any idea what season/episode? There are so many.

Season 14 ep 4 "You have zero friends" It's really good.

Amazing friend

I think it's inevitable things like these happen on every platform that enables mass social interaction. On fb and twitter etc, our reward system is triggered by likes and retweets, on steemit, it's triggered by big upvotes. It's a flaw in our psychology but a platform like steemit is only better because it doesn't harvest our data and sell for money. Every social platform even the Internet generally demand our attention and can eventually become addictive but the question is do we have enough presence of mind to not get carried away and also do we get remuneration for our attention? This is why I am only active on steemit since I found it, if I'm going to spend my time, at least, I will get paid for it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by just2random from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good thoughts to share, thanks! The whole thing that made me sign up here is that there is a totally different vibe here. But I couldn't believe that bots weer allowed on here! :( At least they say they're bots. But its reasonable to think they're resulting in the promotion of more vacuous content - i.e. if your content is good you shouldn't need bots to promote your posts. And if you're doing it for the posts and not the votes you shouldn't even care in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73