HELPFUL TIPS for NEW STEEMIANS! ['Sourcing' your posts]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I first joined Steemit (2 months ago) I was a bit nervous. I was used to posting on FB (mostly just with friends & family) and watching youtube videos. It's been a long time since I wandered much farther than that. I don't even remember what brought me here to Steemit. I mean, where I heard about it. But I had been wanting to invest in non fiat currency for a long time but didn't know how. It all seems so confusing. Which coin?

Well I figured I can't go wrong with Steemit because it costs nothing to join and they even give you free steem to get started! And it didn't take me long at all to feel welcomed. I've even become brave enough to create and upload my own videos on dtube! I have never done that before...😃 They're totally amateurish but I'm learning and slowly getting better and proud that I took that step. I don't get very many visitors but I feel like I've made a few friends/followers and it makes me feel good when they take the time to upvote me....thank you friends....:)

Around the time when I started seeing youtubers getting de-monetized etc and found Steemit I was elated! No deleted posts or 'manufactured' trending pages? And a chance to get involved in cryptocurrency? Hell yeah! Now the only time I'm on FB is to share my Steemit posts...lol

I still watch youtube but I'm finding that alot of my favorite political youtubers are now creating Steemit accounts. Yeah! I try to follow their stuff here but some either still aren't joined or the ones who are, are still uploading to youtube some good stuff that they're not duplicating on dtube. If I find it on Steemit/dtube I upvote them & resteem it. But if it's only on youtube, I'll sometimes embed their video into my Steemit blog (link/share) or if it's really important info that would be lost if deleted from youtube, I'll download it and upload it to dtube. I'm not sure if that's cool or not to do but some videos are too important and need archived forever for all to have access to. Shout out to the original youtubers. Please upload your youtube videos to dtube!

So, to get to my point, at first I didn't realize that I wasn't 'sourcing' my stuff. You know, putting a link to where I originally found the video/info/image. You gotta give the person credit for their work that you felt valuable enough to share. I ALWAYS 'like' their FB/youtube channels but that's not enough. You gotta source them if you use it here.

But there's a problem. When you add a youtube link to your Steemit blog post, it automatically 'embeds' the video meaning, ready to just click and play. But do you notice that you can't actually go to where that original content is? You can only watch the video through the steemit post.

I figured out that you need a little html in order to have the video 'and' a source link show up underneath the video. So here's what I do. I paste the video link 'twice' in my post. On seperate lines. You'll notice though that when you do that you end up with 2 embedded videos on top of each other. That's not what I want.

But if you enclose the 2nd link in brackets ie: <video-link-here> (without the dashes) you get the embedded video (1st link) with a clickable link (2nd link in brackets) under the video. Html makes that link, an actual link instead of an embedded, ready to play video.

I add Source: <link-here> so that everyone knows that's where I got the video. Perfect!

Ok, now for dtube. Here's where the problem comes in. It's different if you're going to upload your own original video to dtube. You don't need a link...duh

#1 dtube does not give you a preview pane as to what your post is going to look like, like Steemit blogs do (hope they change that). And once you submit your dtube video, you CANNOT EDIT it like you can a post from your Steemit blog. So be super sure that your i's are dotted & T's crossed before you submit to dtube!

#2 dtube seems to render html differently than steemit. If you put a link between brackets in a dtube upload, it erases the link! That link will not show up in your description at all. You'll see 'Source:' but then nothing. No link....hmmmm

I thought I was brilliant when I came up with the idea of ok, 'you 'can' edit steemit blogs (not dtube posts), and dtube-uploads automatically show up on your steemit blog feed so, I'll just edit the Steemit blog post....

But guess what. You can edit that blog to your hearts content. The changes will show up on your blog, but NOT on the dtube channel post. Wtf? Edits on 'replies' work fine on both. But edits on the original dtube description DO NOT. So....

My workaround is this.

Be aware of which platform your original contend is being created from. If submitting a regular Steemit post from Steemit, I use the double links with the brackets around the 2nd link.

But if my content is being submitted on dtube, I just upload the video, then add the Source: link (no brackets). That gives me the video I uploaded with the link underneath. Yeah! But.....

Immediately go to that dtube upload that now shows up on your Steem feed. You will see the two embedded videos on top of each other. Click edit. Enclose that link in brackets ie: Source: <source-link-here> (without the dashes). Remember, dtube does not show edits. EVER! So when you submit that edit, look at your post and you'll have your eternalized uploaded video, with your source link underneath. Go to your dtube channel and you will see no change at all. Perfect!....

Let me know if you find this helpful with an upvote and comment as to whether you'd like more of my wisdom/tricks I've discovered through trial & error.

And please, if someone knows of a better, more direct way to get steemit & dtube to mirror eachother using different syntax please let me know

Sort:  

good info thanks for sharing

Yw. Ty! I'm still trying to figure out how all this works and sharing what I find. If I had an issue with something?
Chances are I figure, so is someone else. Everyone seems so helpful in here.

Wow thanks! Very helpful info. Tell us more!...lol

Hello & Cheers!! I'm a content detection and information bot. You are receiving this reply because a short link or links have been detected in your post/comment. The purpose of this message is to inform your readers and yourself about the use of and dangers of short links.

To the readers of the post: Short links are provided by url shortening services. The short links they provide can be useful in some cases. Generally their use is benign. But as with all useful tools there are dangers. Short links can be used to hide all sorts of things. Quite frequently they are used to hide referral links for instance. While not dangerous this can be deceptive. They can also be used to hide dangerous links such as links to phishing sites, sites loaded with malware, scam sites, etc. You should always be extremely cautious before clicking on one. If you don't know and trust the poster don't click. Even if you do you should still be cautious and wary of any site you are sent to. It's always better to visit the site directly and not through a short link.

To the author of the post: While short links may be useful on some sites they are not needed on steemit. You can use markdown to format your links such as this link to steemit. It's as simple as [steemit](https://steemit.com) Unlike short links this allows the reader to see where they are going by simply hovering over the link before they click on it.

This message was created by a bot. It is part of the ongoing fight against spam and phishing attacks on steemit. If you did not use short links in your post and feel you have received this message in error you can contact @fubar-bdhr on discord or @fubar.bdhr on steemit chat to report the issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66