Where is Your Faith?

in #steemit8 years ago

When faced with challenges in your life, what do you do? How do you react? Who do you seek guidance from? All these questions start rushing through my mind every time life throws obstacles my way. Personally, I tend to seek someone older than me, perhaps even more experienced in life and who has a successful career! However, is that right? Or in other words, is this what Jesus wants from you and me?

Jesus Calms the Storm

22 One day Jesus said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side of the lake.” So they got into a boat and set out. 23 As they sailed, he fell asleep. A squall came down on the lake, so that the boat was being swamped, and they were in great danger. 24 The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!” He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm. 25 “Where is your faith?” he asked his disciples. In fear and amazement they asked one another, “Who is this? He commands even the winds and the water, and they obey him.”_ Luke 8:22-25.

Recently, one of my friends shared her story with me of how God saved her and her family before everything collapsed and was torn to shreds by devastation and misery! However, they have come to face another life obstacle, which is: trying to relocate to a place closer to her university. Nevertheless, her family has only 13 more days to empty their current apartment and start moving! They have been looking for so long yet no home was found! I felt wrecked because a minute ago she was sharing how God carried them to safety, yet here they are now, worried if they will find a house before the deadline.

Reading through the chapter of Luke I notice that the disciples faced a great danger, where a squall or storm came down on them and freaked them out! This is not the first time a storm shakes their faith and courage with an earthquake of doubt and fear of death! In “Luke 8:24” the disciples rushed to where Jesus was lying and woke Him up, saying: “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!”. If I were in Jesus shoes I would have turned into an angry fire and burned them all because of their lack of faith! How many times has Jesus done miracles in front of them?! How many times did they call for aid and He came to their rescue?! Yet, they came for the tenth time, overwhelmed with fear and lack of faith- asking for Him to save them!

After the disciples woke Him up, He calmed the storm and then He asked them: “Where is your faith?”. How great is Jesus! How awesome is He! He never gave up on his disciples nor did He forsake them, even when they worried and doubted. Wow! I feel Jesus reminding me of that right now, especially that I am so forgetful of the fact that He saved me so many times from so many storms in life! If I were to record all the miracles that God has performed (and continues to perform) in my life, it would definitely take years to get through them all!

When was the last time Jesus calmed a storm in your life? I would like you to recall that moment where you were struggling and feeling so devastated, broken, lonely and perhaps like God forsook you. Jesus is here today and is asking you again and again: “Where is your faith?”. Where is your faith, my fellow brother or sister in Christ? Jesus has definitely reminded me of His love and mercy! He rescued me over and over again, but sometimes, I still lack faith and seek help from people who merely lack faith just like me. But, He wants to continue to rescue me every time I fall, because I am His and He loves me unconditionally! He wants to do that for you as well!

By the way, the disciples were amazed by how God calmed the waves and wind; do you feel amazed when Jesus rescues you from your own burdens and calms the waves and winds in your life?

Something to think about:

Are you currently facing a storm?
Has Jesus saved you before?
Do you want saving from anything?
Where is your faith? Who is your faith in?
“And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.” – Acts 4:12.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33