Hello Steemit, my name is Julian and I'm from Berlin :D

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemit community? Happy Friday from Berlin, Germany! My name is Julian-Sebastian and yes, that is my first name. When I was born my parents couldn't choose between Julian or Sebastian, and my father being the massive Bach fan that he is said "heh, Julian-Sebastian doesn't sound too bad." I know he was just trying to be diplomatic, but I don't think he imagined how much confusion it would cause for people trying to address me (or for me filling out legal documents) years down the line.

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 14.45.34.png

I was born in San Francisco, California, and spent most of my young life bouncing around the Bay Area until moving to Arizona at age 15. I went to high school in Phoenix, ran track, played basketball and eventually got a scholarship to attend the University of Arizona. In 2013 I completed a Bachelor or Science in Psychology with a minor in English Literature. I also ran for the University track and field team, specializing in the 400m. After graduation, I went traveling and eventually landed in Berlin, where I now permanently reside. My father is German (thus, the Bach fixation) so I've been coming to Berlin and traveling around Germany since I was little.

My father never spoke German to me when I was young. Again, being the gentlemen that he is he didn't want my mom to feel left out of conversations. So, I've been learning for the past 5 years on my own and yeah, it's hard as hell. I'd say I'm about 90% fluent and honestly it's the proudest accomplishment of my life so far.

Berlin life

I'm currently working as a Community Manager and Content Editor for an online publishing platform. In my free time I do photography, like to write and cook as much as I possibly can. I love food. I love it so much. I also run with a sports club called the Berlin Braves. Some of my closest friends here are also part of the Braves, and together we not only train and compete in races but go on trips, host events and produce content around all of the different things that we do. With us, it's not just about athletics. We're a family of creatives with interests in everything from fashion and photography to politics and engineering.

Our team is also part of the Bridge The Gap (BTG) community. We're a global network of runners from every country you could imagine, who get together to run races, share experiences and do a fair bit of partying. Last year for annual the Berlin Marathon we hosted all of the running teams from the Bridge The Gap network to join us for a weekend of festivities. One of my good friends, Sam, who runs with us is also a freelance videographer and he filmed/edited a short piece documenting the weekend of the Berlin weekend. Check it out!

For me, it's all about people!

As a Community Manager, I spend most of my day working with and helping people. In my free time I like to be social, go to events, travel and engage with different communities. So yeah, I guess you could say I'm a people person! I enjoy being part of communities just as much and I enjoy helping to create them. In everything I do, both professionally and leisurely, I try to involve people. If I do anything in this world, I want to bring people together. So far, that's what I find most interesting about Steemit. The fact that a person's "value" (still hate using that term but oh well) is determined not only by the quality of their contributions to the platform, but the quality of interactions they have as well. For someone who spends a lot of time in online communities, I find that really refreshing. While it definitely has lucrative benefits, I get the feeling that the creators of Steemit really want to harvest a meaningful community here.

I hope that's the case, and I would like to contribute to it by simply being myself. On my blog, I will share content around the things that interest me. Things that are important to my everyday life. Things that I want to accomplish, question and learn more about. I look forward to sharing my mind with all of you and learning from your contributions as well.

Cheers,

Julian-Sebastian

14435404_1172027642859645_173208633817252019_o.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Julian,
Welcome to the community.
Hope you will enjoy STeemit as much as most of us do, and will be an active participator of the community.
Any questions let me kniw, like to help new Steemians with tips..
greetings @gindor

Hi @jsebastian and welcome to the Steemit community. You're right about the most interesting part of Steemit being the incentive to post good content and contribute meaningfully. That is what appealed to me when I first signed up. It isn't about the money either (although that's a bonus) but rather about the good community feel on the platform. Good look in your future Steemit endeavours.

Thanks for the welcome, and good luck to you in your endeavors as well! As I mentioned I work as a content editor, and on many of the platforms that we run the writers are simply all about their view counts, followers etc. So to actually be able to look forward to and expect meaningful and engaging comments is refreshing! I also like the design of the canvas, somehow I feel more inclined to write on it than most blogging platforms, such as Wordpress (which is an absolute design nightmare). Glad to be here.

Welcome to Steem @jsebastian I have sent you a tip

Hello and welcome!
I'am @jungs Good luck.

Congratulations @jsebastian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome julian, Looking forward to your next post :)

Welcome, your job sounds pretty cool man!

I welcome you to the colorful world of steemit! You will definitely get a whole new experience from all the wonderful people in this community.
Also feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted mouthwatering recipes from around the world.

A traveler a foodie and a nice person at heart ..loved your intro ..Welcome to the club brother .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around .

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78