Newbie, You're Doing it Wrong!👎

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Source - Design by me

"Upvote for Upvote?" "I'm Following You, You Follow Me Back?"I Voted for Your Post, You Vote Me Back?" "I Voted for your Post, When You Have Time, Could you do The Same? My Link is Below".

Source

These have been some experiences I've had here with some newbies on the platform who still have not figured out how to get followers, recognition, reputation, votes and finally ... money on Steemit.

Source

I remember that 11 months ago when I joined Steemit I suffered a lot to finally have my posts have their success and audience. Was difficult. I had to divulge my posts a lot and what made it easier a little at the beginning was to have the support of the Curie Project (@curie) that I am following the guidelines I could have an upvote that guaranteed to have my post finely recognized.

cheers-839865_640.jpg

Source

I understand the desperation of the newbies, because they also want to surf a little in the "wave" of financial success of the platform and feel that for sure investing time posting on this platform is very worthwhile. But, you newbie have to understand that it is not only why you voted in my post that I am forced to vote for yours, that you follow me, I'm forced to follow you and that I'm not forced too to make the "Upvote for Upvote Game".

right-1712994_640.png

Source

It does not work like that here. Unfortunately (or fortunately) you will have to work hard here to be able to get the recognition you seek and deserve. Write more, post more, interact more with the community, act as frequent curator of posts of other users, do without asking anything in return. Just like in real life, for you to win people on this platform you will have to show your worth.

This way of wanting attention, votes, through direct messages in the chat of "Upvote by Upvote" (I have already received thousands of these direct messages in steemit.chat and I confess that I blocked everyone who asked me this), is not the correct and sensible to proceed .

Source

And I tell you that even today I have almost 69 of reputation, 11 months of Steemit and almost 700 followers, I also have difficulties to see my recognized posts. Most of my posts are no more than 100 SBD earnings, but I am grateful for all that I have achieved so far here and I understand that it is all a process of growth and improvement of what I post here.

aec-1782427_640.jpg

Source

So work, improve posts, vote on other users' posts without asking for anything in return, be patient, invest in time to talk to other users asking for directions, comment on the posts of users with higher reputation, but not any comments like "Upvote", "Follow You", but develop arguments, interact with what this user wrote or photos that he posted.

Source

I wish you good luck and I hope you grow up here at Steemit in every way. Here is a school and we always have something to learn. Knowledge is defense, so acquiring it is never too much.


Thanks for reading my post!

Obrigado por ter lido o meu post!

jampb300.jpg


js sign.jpg

Sort:  

So true. I hope newbies read this and follow your advice.
Good work

Obrigado Rui, vamos ver se esse post ajuda os novatos e os erros não sejam cometidos. Abraço!

I found your post by sheer luck-I am new, not a creator...yet...but I might tackle it -we all have a great story or wisdom to share-I really like your post because it helped me out to understand this jungle-thanks for the heads up on what not to do :) the hard work part is a given--no success comes without it! thanks!

Great comment friend. Welcome to Steemit and Good Luck!

This is a fair and honest point of view. Totally agree with you. Life is a battle. Some win and other lose. The winner is the one that will write the history. We all struggle to learn from our mistakes and to keep our dignity!

Nothing more correct, great comment @hebro. Thanks for coming

THANK YOU for saying this @jsantana. Part of the growing pains of this beta ride.

I needed to say that. Thanks @gringalicious

Good advice, keep up the good work.

Great post. I'm new here (but already have some content already! Yay!I expirienced the same... My first comment i got was "I follow if you follow back!" Upvoted and resteemed.

That's great @w0olf . Welcome to Steemit and that you can grow on this platform. Congratulations on learning.

Whenever I see someone do this I cringe because I know eventually someone will flag them. Then we all know what happens to accounts that keep getting flagged. Bye Bye

Yeah my friend @hilarski. The reputation here is only one. A pleasure to see you here, a great week for you.

How many people you've flagged for almost 1 year? You are dangerous.

I think the people that follow me are already tired of me saying pretty much the same thing. It's funny how people who get on this website think that by only posting bad content and telling others to upvote their content they can get rich.

I always considered that really good and high quality content is the way to go, and it is indeed, I made more money in a week on Steemit posting the best content I could than I ever expected.

The good thing is that in time, people asking for upvotes and followers may leave Steemit, because they will see their strategy is not working, and when that happens, and they'll realize what they need is high quality content, they'll just leave.

Nice article, it's nice to see other people think this way too. I hope you get more and more recognition in the future, and more rewards. Best of luck! :)

Very nice your comment @raikuhen and great analysis, I'm honored to see your words here. Thank you very much!

Thank you for your kind words :) Best of luck with your posts in the future :)

Hit the nail on the head there, exactly what needs to be said and for anyone just starting to take on board. Thanks for sharing.

I'm honored for your words @dominikboecker, thanks for coming here and a good week for you.

You all rightly said. I do not like to impose what you can not impose. If a person wants to - he will vote and will follow. If not - alas, this is your destiny :) :) Very all rightly said. Thank you.

Thanks for coming @nezaigor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80