Embracing Overthinking: Three Hacks for Turning it into a Strength

in #steemit8 months ago

Embracing Overthinking: Three Hacks for Turning it into a Strength

I must confess: I'm an overthinker, and it has dominated my life. This tendency manifests as a constant stream of thoughts, even when I'm fully engrossed in the present moment. Regardless of the activity, my mind races. Over the past decade, I've tried various mindfulness techniques like meditation, exercise, and yoga in an attempt to quiet my mind. Unfortunately, none of these methods proved effective. Instead, I've discovered three powerful strategies to keep overthinking from hindering my life.

The pivotal realization was to stop viewing my overthinking as something to "fix." It shifted from being a problem to becoming one of my greatest assets. Trying to halt my thoughts is akin to swimming against a current – an impossible feat, at least for me. In this article, I'll elucidate why advising an overthinker to simply "be present" is misguided, followed by the three hacks that have made a significant difference.

The worst advice for an overthinker: just "be present"

One of the most common pieces of life advice I come across is to "be present." Yet, for someone like me who tends to overthink, this mantra can be perplexing. What does it truly mean to "be present"? Is it about quieting the "monkey mind" and engaging my physical senses to observe, smell, and hear my surroundings? Or does it entail delving deeper into my thoughts? Both approaches lead to a whirlwind of thoughts, self-doubt, and a struggle to connect with the present moment.

Recognizing that many others grapple with overthinking, I want to share three hacks I've developed to transform overthinking into a powerful ally.

  1. Create distinct identities and embrace them

Though it may sound unconventional, this practice significantly reduces the impact of overthinking. Cultivate different identities in your mind and fully embrace them. For example, there's the "insecure Justin" who questions my actions, especially when I'm interacting with someone I'm attracted to or entering a business meeting. There's also the "angry Justin" who reacts strongly to injustices or bullying.

Add_a_little_bit_of_body_text_5-5-768x538.png

By listening to these various versions of myself when overthinking arises, I establish a different relationship with my thoughts. I don't become the "insecure Justin"; I maintain a degree of separation. I don't reject this aspect of myself, as there's often a valuable lesson to glean. Instead, I listen to these thoughts, recognizing that they do not define me.

  1. Meditate with a simple "trick"

Alan Watts taught me a straightforward meditation technique that involves becoming aware of all the sounds around you, much like listening to music. Instead of fixating on specific chords, appreciate how the sounds wash over you. Apply the same principle to your thoughts. Recognize that you are not your thoughts; they are akin to spontaneous sounds. Treat them as you would chords in a background song – acknowledge their presence and let them go.

  1. Embrace the challenge of overthinking

Once you've created distinct identities and detached from your thoughts, you'll have made significant progress in altering your relationship with overthinking. The final step is to relish the struggle that accompanies being an overthinker.

I now understand that my overthinking is a formidable asset. I've turned my analytical nature from a source of neurosis into a strength. Ideapod, for instance, was born from this tendency, providing a platform for my myriad ideas and a space to connect with like-minded individuals. The most substantial change in my life is that I've learned to enjoy being an overthinker. I appreciate spending time with contemplative people and relish the continuous analysis of my surroundings. My relationship with the thoughts in my head has evolved, and I value the growth that stems from overthinking.

Are you also an overthinker? Has overthinking posed significant challenges in your life, or have you managed to harness it as a potent asset? Share your experiences in the comments below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44