A question about permanence

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steemit about three weeks now - I've earned just under 60 steem, all from rewards and power up; my upvotes are finally worth $.02; and I just hit the 50-reputation mark. Hell, I even bought my first bitcoin last night! (A very small amount.) So, yeah, I'm feeling pretty salty.

Salty.jpg
Source

I've also been learning a lot - about steemit, and about blockchain/cryptocurrency in general. So far it's been a lot of fun and quite illuminating.

One thing I'm wondering about: permanence​. I understand that all posts are permanent in steemit's blockchain (and the blockchain therefore grows wildly every day). But how do users efficiently access that permanence? Is there currently a way to find the best, most valuable older content? (I see the search function, but it's kind of hit or miss).


Source

Since I'm posting a lot of comic pages here, I'm wondering how/if anyone will be able to find them six months down the road without me posting a link. My own content aside, tutorials on how things work here are especially important for newbies. But doing a search can land on a two-year-old post with outdated information, or maybe nothing comes up at all.

I guess I'm wondering if there's a way to distinguish certain posts: a lot of what we post here is ephemeral in nature - it's news that will change tomorrow, or it's updates leading toward some future goal. But is there, or will there be, a way to mark certain content that is easily found later? And is dTube any different in this respect?


Source

Let me put it another way: the thing that excites me about steemit is the ability and promise to be rewarded for content creation. But the best content lasts - it's the movie you watch 10 times, or the album you play over and over. So, while I'm so far impressed and excited by what steemit is - and I can see how/why putting a one-week limit on rewards/payouts makes sense - I'm wondering how we move to a ​system where content is rewarded on a more permanent basis? I think it's that kind of system that will be the ​true disruptor in media.

Thanks for reading - and thanks so much to​ everyone who has helped me in these last three weeks!

Sort:  

This is one thing I've thought about as well. Will some of the blog post that I posted the first day ever be read? Will that ever lead readers to my other post? One thing I have thought about doing is posting a navigation system on my everyday blog post similar to how I do my webcomics.
My art for instance. I can put a navigation system and readers can see the last, or first drawing. I just don't know how to do the next button unless I start posting more than 1 drawing a week.

But then again... if we can't get anything from it, does it really matter if someone reads our 2 week old post? Should we repost it in a few months when we are low on content to add?

I'm currently using Steemit as just another place to be seen at. I have my comic on several sites where I gain nothing. This is just another one of those, but I get paid a little to post it here, which is really cool. But my main focus is getting more eyes on my comic. So if someone sees page 47, then they will always be able to start at the beginning.

But then again... if we can't get anything from it, does it really matter if someone reads our 2 week old post?

Right, that's the other side of that question. For webcomics with navigation, finding the older pages is less of an issue. But what happens when 1 million people find and love the pages one year from now? (Hey, I can dream.) Sure, you'll increase your readership - but if this kind of model is going to overtake how media is currently monetized (ads or subscription), there has to be a way to receive value in the future. I've heard a lot about automatic micropayments - but I guess that's still in the future, and may or may not be relevant for steemit.

That is a good question. I know my post won't blow up like that, but I'm sure someone's will at some point. Why knows why or when... but you're right, that person should benefit from that spike.

I also think that comments on older post still get rewarded up to 7 days after the comment is posted.

Like in all other Social medias, and especially the ones that are not curated by an (evil) algorithm like the one Facebook has, older content is disappearing in the digital grease pit of digested bytes.

For long time exposure of your content you might consider a thing like Alexandria.io or similar projects. I think of Steemit as a blog where I promote my creative commons art and entertain people in the process. I have even considered to repost a few of my very old posts that was paid 0.01 $ a year ago to this new and larger audience.

I've wondered about this also.

Regarding DTube, I know that its creator is looking into ways to better organize and monetize our content on there. I think playlists have been mentioned as well as other ways to monetize beyond seven days.

Steemit's search function, sucks.

I would think, especially in trying to compete against Youtube, dtube would be a place where you'd want your content to gain value beyond the 7-day mark. I'll be posting my first video there in the next week or two. Just another thing I've got to figure out. :)

I've been seeing post of this DTube around. Havent' really looked into it, but Some YouTube videos take forever to get views, DTube seems like it would be good for a daily blog, but not much else. You could make much more on Youtube if you gradually get views. I'll have to look into it though!

You have to remember that DTube is even newer than Steemit but already, with two updates since I've been using it, it has made great strides and added many new features, with more on the way. @heimindanger is great about keeping users updated on what he and his assistants are working on. He has said many times that he is using YouTube as the model for DTube as far as functionality is concerned.

You've been using it, I take it? Is there any difference between regular steemit and there? I mean, I know it gets listed on steemit, in the feeds. But is there something I should know or do to have dTube folks find the posted video on dTube?

Right now I usually find videos by clicking on the dtube tag in Steemit and then clicking on the "new" tab.

If I'm already on DTube, I do the same in the drop down menu.

When you do upload your video, use your tags wisely because you only get 5, minus the automatic DTube tag.

Other than that, I would suggest posting a link on twitter with DTube and Steemit hashtags. There are Steemit accounts on Twitter that sometimes retweet your tweets about those platforms.

Adrien (DTube founder) said that they are working on getting creators' videos to show up in Google searches in the next update, I believe or in a couple of updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69