You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Guilds and Managing Expectations

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

NO way! The dude that ran the Super Bowl Contest wrote this post??? IMO, this has been the most informational and correct assessment of my attitude towards the platform.
Total Newb, I am...but how the hell can I write something funny, fresh and relevant and get no love??? Because I am a Newb...that's how. In fact, I only just now learned that there truly is a CLASS of users being propped up. It came as no surprise to realise I ain't in it!
@ats-david gets it. I buy in completely to what he says here. And in all honesty, I have lost any "raving fan" excitement of the platform as I have been watching some of these retarded posts going off. Some of these are just long-winded re-words of something that just popped up on buzzsumo. But they drop a couple pics in between boring text and it gets more votes than Gary Johnson and Jill Stein combined.
Bottom line, I am the type of guy this platform wants. I want the playing field to be level. To know that it isn't just says that Steemit ISN'T decentralised, making a mockery of the blockchain and what it stands for. I salute the author of this post for having the cajones to lay it all out. Again, to me he was the "football guy", as I haven't been on here a month. But I pay a debt of gratitude for having at least one cool and intelligent person on here.
So, I don't feel so lonely on here anymore. It isn't just a bunch of sycophants all clicked-out upvoting each others' schwag. I am relieved to see how much support this post is getting, because it is deserved. So, apparently this has struck a chord with the user base and I hope it warrants real change. I have all kinds of stuff I'd love to write about. Just had four days in Prague - off the hook! Certainly merits a post - but mmmmm nah! Not worth the time to upload photos and actually make it readable. I am not a writer, I am someone who can make people understand and feel experiences, but who cares?
I would love this platform to get legit...kill the guilds. How can STEEMIT call itself decentralised and market-driven when it is nothing more than affirmative action for shitty writers? My two cents, tho it won't see that.

Sort:  

NO way! The dude that ran the Super Bowl Contest wrote this post???

I know, right? A sports guy that can string some coherent sentences together and formulate a somewhat proper critique? It's unheard of! (It's actually funny that you wrote this because I often wonder if people think that...and now I know that they do.)

And in all honesty, I have lost any "raving fan" excitement of the platform as I have been watching some of these retarded posts going off. Some of these are just long-winded re-words of something that just popped up on buzzsumo.

Yeah, it sure appears that way - and you're also not the only person who notices this. It has consistently been one of the most criticized aspects of the platform when it comes to content/rewards. A lot of it is just a disagreement on preferences, but there is a considerable amount of criticism that is based on artificial popularity and voting "collusion" among larger stakeholders. And I happen to think that there is a lot of merit in those criticisms - as I pointed out some of it in this post.

Again, to me he was the "football guy", as I haven't been on here a month. But I pay a debt of gratitude for having at least one cool and intelligent person on here.

To be fair, there are several cool and intelligent people here. There's me...and there are my alt accounts. :)

Before I move on, I just want to say that was a joke, before anyone accuses me of arrogance, hypocrisy (again) and/or nefarious behavior (again). I'm looking at you, Steem Guild staff.

Just had four days in Prague - off the hook! Certainly merits a post - but mmmmm nah! Not worth the time to upload photos and actually make it readable. I am not a writer, I am someone who can make people understand and feel experiences, but who cares?

If you share it and it's not a complete mess, you'll get my vote! I love seeing (and feeling) worldly experiences. Make sure you send me the link if you post it. (You can find me on steemit.chat - username is "ats.david" there.)

How can STEEMIT call itself decentralised and market-driven when it is nothing more than affirmative action for shitty writers?

That's a fair point. It completely goes against everything regarding how the platform was supposed to evaluate/filter content, according to the whitepaper.

Thanks for the comment. I really do appreciate the sentiment. You should scroll back through my older posts if you want to see more stuff like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43