Hey Steemit Lovers! Quality, Not Quantity! ;)

in #steemit7 years ago

There's nothing wrong with posting frequently on Steemit! How can one be blamed for being excited about such an incredible platform! This is after all the future of social media and many of us want to make some good money in STEEM in the meantime!

steem quality.png

However,

many are unaware of how demand affects their value.

There are a lot of people on Steemit that instead of posting quality posts, they just post everything they see. Sometimes a YouTube video without a description. People's news feeds become spammed with countless posts with no substance!

steem quality4.png

The people who do this are not bad people. They're not stupid. They just don't understand the fundamentals of the platform. They're just getting overly excited about the concept of Steemit and doing everything they can to gain a presence. But many of them are doing themselves a disservice.

There are some with nearly a thousand posts or so, but less than 100 followers. Mostly because people either unfollow them due to a spammed feed, or they just don't follow them to begin with.

This all comes back to the old saying, "quality, not quantity" which is more true than ever on Steemit!

steem quality5.jpg

Imagine being in a group of friends and constantly talking over everyone and telling people every single thing you see while walking down the street...

"Hey! It's a dog!" "Hey! Look at that street sign!" "Hey! There's a car driving by!"

This would surely get quite annoying to your friend group and they would be likely not to include you in their future hangouts. Or simply just avoid you.

giphy.gif

On Steemit, the quality of your posts mean potential future traffic on your page! Your demand goes up! You're like a product and instead of making 1 million crappy plastic toys, you just make several toys of great quality and those toys are more likely to be bought instead of thrown into some basket at the far end of your dollar store.

steem quality6.jpg

We are on the ground floor of something big here and I don't pretend to know everything about this incredible new innovation, but I'm a big fan of free markets and demand and I know good marketing when I see it.

So post away! Post a lot! Just make sure you are creating something of value and you will succeed in no time! ;)

Thanks for reading!

Don't forget to Upvote and Follow! ;)

Sort:  

I completely agree. One can tell a re-post right away. I'm new to steemit and have vowed to only post content I've created. If the community only rewards original, non-plagiarized content, the spam re-posters will be discouraged which is a very, very good thing. I like your writing, upvoted and following you! All my best, brother :)

Thanks Dan! :)
I agree. That's the great thing about demand. It roots out the junk. ;)

Sometimes though...us noobs are still trying to find what sticks (not speaking for everyone obviously)

I hear you! It's more just the constant 40 post a day people who just share links to videos they saw on YouTube with no added context. That gets really lame fast and brings down your account potential. I'm still a noob too, but getting a hang of it.

Again... Not speaking for everyone of course... But that's pretty common in other social media sites... Maybe it's just bad habits.
I'm avoiding it personally

Good advice to keep in mind. I saw a video that frequent posts can hurt your money and score, though im not sure if had any merit to it.

If the posts aren't quality, absolutely!
I mean @barrydutton for example posts a lot, but they're quality posts. That's why he's one of the top Steemit members.
Then there are others I won't name that just copy and paste stuff or paste YouTube links without saying anything constantly all day. Those accounts won't get anywhere if they keep that up.

I still don't get Steemit.... it seems to be geared towards people who are always talking (the 1%) at the expense of us who hardly have anything to say...

This is just advice for those who enjoy posting. :)
You can write about or post whatever you want, just suggestion!

I find that I get stuck more often then not trying to post... this platform is not very user friendly IMHO like most others... just tried to post something tonight and it just would not go through... as I have told others unless you make it easy for everyone this platform will be stuck in 2nd gear and not reach its full potential... sad!

Interesting outlook.

I agree somewhat but there are variables that affect this also, the main one being if you're a lousy writer you won't be putting out much quality posts, on the other hand I think that the quality that counts is the quality of your followers (by this I mean their Steem Power) the higher SP your followers have the higher your rewards will be, and the quality of your posts doesn't matter as much as this. I'll tell you my case I have 9 months here and have a little over 500 SP and have never powered down, obviously I am not a very good writer, but I have seen people who only paste links or videos and they have a much higher amount of SP, with less time than I. So it comes down to your connections, even though of course if you do post a top quality article it would get many votes because it is a quality post.

If you can't get the original post to work at all what you have said doesn't matter... people will just get frustrated and go away. Sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37