DONT FOLLOW ANYONE ON STEEMIT!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4047.GIFI am writing this after researching the like-profit ratio of different blog post. Now I could be totally wrong, but examine profiles that follow a hundred people and look at the ones that follow thousands and you will see it adds up.
When I first joined I saw these posts with 40 likes and they were getting around $40, and I thought "Dang I could do that easily". This is where I made my first mistake, I started following everyone. That way I would get more followers, and with more followers comes more likes. And more likes = more money right? WRONG! Because by following 7,000 people I raised an interesting little number in my steemit profile called "New Average Bandwidth". And this variable goes up whenever you do anything on this site. Whether you follow someone, unfollow someone, write a post, comment on a post, etc.. My New Average Bandwidth is sitting around 2 trillion right now, which is WAY to high. If you want to check out your stats go to this website but fill in your username: https://steemd.com/@username

I believe that the reason I only made $0.66 on a post that got 78 likes is because I have such a high bandwidth and steemit is deducting money from my account to pay for the bandwidth I used. It isn't a bad business plan, but I really screwed my account because now I have to make enough money to pay back all the bandwith I wasted. So my word to the people reading this, only follow people you really really like, because for every amount of bandwidth you use you are cutting into your profits.

If you think it's based just on SP feel free to upvote this to see

Sort:  

That isn't how it works. Check the voter's wallets for the SP amount they have. That's why certain posts get more than others, because of higher SP being applied in votes to a post. It's not by vote count.

So you are saying that new Average bandwidth plays no role in the algorithm?

Pretty sure @krnel is correct. The payout is only determined by the SP each voter has, as well as how much voting power they use on a single upvote.

Well let's test it by getting this to the front page :)

Lets not.

@krnel is right and any reasonably informed steem dev will confirm this. This post borders on negligent misinformation.

I'm glad you do not follow me, depart from me you idiot.

I don't remember it working like that, but that's an interesting theory.

It 100% does not work like that. Not a theory, it's misinformation.

  • Community Liaison, Steemit Inc.

Thanks for the information. This is one area i want steem to simplify . there are too many rules that we do not know and its kind of difficult to exploit those rules if you don't know them. Maybe you should unfollow people who are not following you back . i just followed you though

Thanks, I googled questions about following a lot of people on here but came up with nada. Figured from my blunder you guys could learn something.

This article contains misinformation. It's not true. Steem and Steemit.com are designed to be intuitive, just use it as you would any other social network. How it all works "under the hood" so to speak, is complicated, but the average user does not have to worry about that. Of course, people making bold and categorically false claims in an effort to get attention does complicate matters, but this is the price of having a censorship resistant platform.

Thanks . wish we could have less complications .

Interesting information, so we should minimize our actions to maximize profit??

No. The content in this post is seriously inaccurate. To quote our blockchain dev @vandeberg, "bandwidth has nothing to do with rewards calculations."

  • Community Liaison, Steemit Inc.

Yes. Ideally if you don't even browse the site and just upload high quality content 1-3 times a day you would make the most. Unfortunately I already destroyed this account :(

27 votes is 9 cents for you. it's the troof

That's what I'm saying!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This makes me happy and sad :):

Thanks for the note on that. I assume this is accurate but it would be even more helpful if confirmed by someone from Steemit.

I am the Community Liaison for Steemit Inc. and I can confirm that the information in this article is 100% false. Bandwidth has nothing to do with rewards.

Great post, I'm learning every day and posts like this help me to get the best out of Steemit

I'm sorry but this article contains extreme misinformation. To quote our blockchain dev @vandeberg, "bandwidth has nothing to do with rewards calculations."

  • Community Liaison, Steemit Inc.

Thanks for the clarification

Very interesting. Thanks. Now, I have to unfollow you! Kidding.

The information in this post is 100% incorrect. To quote our blockchain dev @vandeberg, "bandwidth has nothing to do with rewards calculations."

  • Community Liaison, Steemit Inc.

Thank you for clearing that up @andrarchy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93