My adventure through cryptocurrencies, and why Steemit is better.

in #steemit8 years ago

Here is my brief history, in chronological order.

Bitcoin: I first heard about it back in 2013, when one of my family members sent me a text about it. I had just been researching ways to make money online, and I decided that I was finished with paid to click things. I gave a try, and earned about a small amount of bitcoin while mining with my gtx 670.

Litecoin: I've had enough of bitcoin mining, and decided it was time to give it a go. I didn't do this originally as I was getting only 14 khs, but then I used a different miner and got around 250 khs. So, I mined that for a while, exchanged to bitcoin, and made a little bit of extra money on the side from it.

Primecoin: Now, this was something really new. It was revolutionary in my eyes. I found a site called ypool.com, and apparently, it was only, at that time, mineable with CPU. So I put my i7-4790k hard at work, and made a few dollars every few days. It wasn't much, but it was only with my CPU, so the energy costs were almost negligible.

Protoshares: As soon as these guys launched, I scrambled to set up my miner. Protoshares were also only mineable by CPU at launch time. I set it up, and by waiting for a bit, happened to make about $120 after they shot up in price after a couple of days. It was the easiest bitcoin I had ever mined. I had gotten that money after getting 5 Protoshares, which was the minimum withdrawable amount.

After that, I mined various x11 coins, none were very profitable, but I tried to start mining coins as soon as they launched, so I could get a little bit of them before their difficulty went up.

Huntercoin: Supposedly, this was supposed to be a great invention because it was human mineable. While that is true, it was just sometimes really glitchy, took a long time to sync, and there were a lot of exploding hunters that made me lose all of the huntercoin that I had earned from a run.

Ethereum: This was a different kind of coin. I found out about it this may, around when the difficulty started to shoot way up. I started mining it, and got around 10 mhs with my gtx 670, and it was pretty decent. I was making around 1-2 dollars per day, but now, as the difficulty is really high, I decided to stop.

Steemit: And now, finally, I have arrived here. This allows people without any extensive hardware to earn money. People with even a cheap $20 android tablet could sign in and start earning. This truly is the way forward. People will be able to post stuff that other people enjoy, and there will be rewards for those people. It's almost like being paid to use reddit, except there are a lot of meta posts. Meta posts are always pretty cool, as they really give you a window into Steemit. Overall though, I would say that Steemit is pretty awesome.

Sort:  

nice read. we pretty much started out the same way. i remember mining for weeks just to get pennies (bitcoin then litecoin then doge then sdc). but i never stopped - until i finally made my first bitcoin. Which I nw trade with(and ofcourse invested some into steem as i feel this coin has great potential.

Thanks! I know a lot of miners started and progressed at least partially in the same way, so it was good to get this out there.

Im agree with that threat :)

damn it jumped to 1,025$ real quick real quick

Mining through contribution is a stroke of pure genius and makes crypto accessible to anyone, really feels like the killer app crypto has been searching for.

LETS PARTY STEEMIT !!! GO GO GO

Great post! I am curious what you think of hard fork as someone who was just recently mining Ether?

Care to weigh in on that issue?

Well, I'm really not an expert on Ether and how it works, but as far as I can see, a hard fork is worth it because it really helps improve the security of ether. Also, I am an owner of a small amount of DAO on poloniex, and I would like to have the ability to turn that back into ether.

And now you human-mined $750+ in one day here...congrats! :-)

steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60