You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: why I think BUYING UPVOTES is ruining Steemit for the rest of us

in #steemit6 years ago

I’m starting to really understand that for me to grow as a steemian it is not viable, nor even necessary for me to use upvote bots anymore. It was really starting to be a habit for me since that is really what I was taught at first. But probably because the bots used to be very profitable! Probably like paying 3 for 11 back when sbd was at 6$. But i also never used a bid bot unless I truly felt it was good content.Now not perfect content but interesting and engaging content. But I totally agree with you. But on the other hand steemit is based off circles of people sticking together and supporting each other, which is why curation trails is a good thing . But then again I’m new to the concept and am always not afraid to change my mind, just like the bots.

But also from my personal experience the best relationships I do have on steemit have been developed organically.

Thanks for being honest and getting a great issue brought up!

Sort:  

I think that technically there are ways that trails and pools and bots (etc) can be used legitimately and in a way that doesn't ruin the vital "content-finding" ability of the site.
For example, bots allow users to send each other "gifts", in a way. Like when you bought an upvote for my post last week, and it was appreciated. Then again, maybe the "gift" could have been the SBD instead of the vote. Then I could put that directly toward my growth, without it going through the "vote buying" cycle which games the system.
I'm not really sure either, but I think it's an important issue, even though it's hard to talk about because this is done all the time, by a large portion of the site's users.
Thanks for encouraging me, and also for not taking this personally. I just want Steemit and all of us to do well long term, and I think focusing on content is key.

That’s a great point about sending the sbd instead of bot! Wow! That’s the first and best argument against buying other people’s bots! Steemit is a very exciting and confusing place. My outlook and view changes everyday.

I love that about this place! Another reason it's worthwhile trying to make it last!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43