14 Podcasts that rock my world

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I'm quite a podcast addict. Heaven for me is jumping on some public transport, watching the world float by and tuning in to an awesome Podo. So I thought I'd share my favourite ones with my fellow Steemniks. After much internal debate for 30 secs I've decided not to rank them in any order other than what comes to mind.

1. Mystery Show

This is so brilliant. I have a huge talent crush on the presenter Starlee Kine. She basically finds real mysteries and solves them. Like 10 years ago a friend of hers borrowed a video from a video store and went to return it the next day but the whole place was empty and boarded up. I am EAGERLY awaiting Season 2.

2. Freakonomics Radio

I've already written to these guys asking them to do a piece on Steemit. They regularly make quality, informative, interesting content. I love it when the stats show a different story to our preconceived notions.

3. Planet Money

I just find the whole concept of money really interesting. It's our world's biggest shared myth. Money doesn't actually exist. It's just made up but we all believe in it so strongly that it completely rules our lives and changes our behaviour. It's how we keep score. It's how we accumulate status. It's how we survive. It's almost impossible to imagine a world without money.

4. The Moth

True stroies told without notes live on stage. Each story goes for about 8 minutes. Search through the archives for some doozies.

5. This American Life

This is the grand-daddy of them all. It's been churning out super-quality content for a really long time. It can be radio-doco, story, song, reporting or musical. I didn't think the musical was that great actually.

6. Startup Podcast

Gimlet media has a few entries in here. This podcast let's you in on how they started the company. You ride the emotional rollercoaster with them. Season 2 was also good while not as good. And the latest Season has dropped off in the interest stakes for me.

7. Invisibilia

Season 1 was amazing. It's like a science doco podcast where they look at the invisble things that affect our lives. Season 2 hasn't been as riveting but I still listen to all of them.

8. Snap Judgement

Another story telling podcast that is highly produced. They have some great stories and put a lot into the music that accompanies them. I tune out when I hear the presenter telling a story from his own life. They don't ring very true to me, and I feel he tries way too hard to embellish them. But the other stories they have on are great.

9. Reply All

Stories that have something to do with the internet. 

10. Love + Radio

More real stories told by the people who lived them in the form of an interview. Or rather edited together based on many interviews. 

11. Longform

Very long interviews with longform journalists. The latest one is Malcolm Gladwell who is coming out with his own podcast.

12. Serial

The most popular podcast ever made so far. Brought podcasting into the mainstream. Season 1 has you glued to your headphones.

13. Stuff You Should Know

Exactly what it says. Check it out.

14. WTF

Marc Maron interviews people. It used to be just comedians, then moved on to musicians too. And then of course he interviewed Barrack Obama. Avoid the interviews with actors. Especially ones in sitcoms. Actors are boring.

Got any you can recommend to me? I'd love some suggestions.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this! I listen to like half of the pod casts you do (freakonomics, invisibilia, this American life, snap judgement, planet money). I will definitely be checking out the others!

Upvoted! I found your post via Steemups - an app that I made for finding upvote-worthy content on Steemit. Seems like it's working :)

Besides of all goodies on the list, have you tried Joe Rogan's Experience? Personally, one of the best podcast of all time.

I've heard little snippets of his podcast but never listened to a whole one. Is there an episode you can recommend?

I liste​n mostly because of MMA stuff. But topics vary, and every episode is different. My personal favorites til this moment probably are:

  • if you're into cryptocurrency, bitcoins

  • science



  • pure entertainment



  • Cool post. Thanks for all the useful links :-)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.17
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.027
    BTC 61263.81
    ETH 2676.81
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.59