You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guide to commenting, replying and upvoting

in #steemit7 years ago

Great advice. I try to respond to anything that is more than "Really liked this". The exception being anything that requests a follow. I look into some of my commentator's content if something about that comment intrigues me, but I'm not fond of people requesting to be followed in comments.

I have to disagree with the "upvote good form" piece though. First, I and many other users have very little behind our upvote. I did upvote this post, and I think it generated less than a cent because I already drained my voting power on other posts I liked. I try to be very active in the community and really can't "afford" to upvote everything I comment on. Seems counter-productive to say comment less.

The second problem is sometimes you comment on content you don't like. It's part of healthy debate, particularly on controversial subjects. I'm not going to upvote a piece on how Jews are ruining the world, but I'm almost certainly going to put in a dissenting opinion.

For casual commenters, sure, you should probably upvote when you comment. But it should be understood that active community members would completely devalue their vote if they did this.

Sort:  

Good point about the comment and upvoting part of the post.

I do understand where you are coming from and I do agree with you, I would probably step back a bit from my opinion here and your point is well made about commenting an opposing opinion on a post that was distateful.

But I still Think that if you like the post and comment on it, then you should still upvote it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50