No Option To Delete a Resteem?!?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I came across steemit for the first time, I have to say, that my mind was blown , to say the least. Cryptocurrency, which you mine by posting and upvoting different topics? Epic, I'm sold.

The great community, easy-to-use user interface, and un-ending stream of knowledge were all just the cherry on top. I've been using the platform for about 3 days now, without being able to find one flaw that would annoy me – all except for one.

The resteem.
More precisely, being unable to delete a resteem. My blog is dedicated to only well thought out content, and when I resteem something, it's because I agree with what the post has to say, I believe in the poster themselves, and I support their work. The resteem represents my own interests and values, and since it is on my blog, it should only be up to par with the rest of my own content, as it is visible to all my followers. It represents me, if you will.

What happens when you accidently resteem a post, or when the post which you resteemed turns out to a downright scam to say the least? Well, you want that post to be removed from your timeline, obviously. It's at that point in time, that newbies like myself start googling ''remove a resteem'', only to be dissapointed by the lack of this absolutely necessary feature. I think, that when the developers of this platform will include this option, steemit will truly be on it's way towards greatness, as it will not only improve as a platform, but it will also bond the community, as it will show that the developers listen to their users.

Don't take this as a rant, but rather as constructive criticism from a newbie's perspective.

steemit.jpg

Upvote this post if you agree,
and feel free to give me a follow @johnsons :)

Sort:  

I think you can just click the resteem button a second time, then the resteem will be canceled.

I thought so too, turns out it's not the case :)

That's strange. Then it would be good if they added the option to cancel a resteem.

guys we are still in beta

How long do you think it stays in beta?

This is something else I noticed the other day....seems very strange!

I think maybe we need a 'fix-this' tag! lol

I really agree, I pressed the resteem button on a post not knowing what it does. So now I have a post on my blog that I don't wan't there, not that it is that much of a problem scince I don't have much content or followers but still, would be awesome to get rid of that resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44