The most important question about HF19 is: Where the hell was all this money going before the fork?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So you've just realized that your voting power has suddenly turned you into a Steemit demi-god able to bestow wealth with a single click. This is awesome!

I just drained most of voting power in an unstoppable orgy of upvoting and commenting. It was good for me and it was good for you.

But now... now I'm mad.

Where the living diddle did all of this value go before the fork? Does anyone know? Cause I really, really want to know.

I feel like we have all been scratching away at someone else's scraps for the past year. Show me the money!!

Seriously - does anyone have any idea where these millions and millions of dollars were going as recently as 3 hours ago?

Sort:  

Was wondering the exact same thing!

Yes, I suspect once the excitement dies down there are going to be a lot questions

To top trending, mainly

It seems to me that if you took the top trending payouts and divided the aggregate amount by the number of Steemit users the total per user would be far, far less than it is right now. I have exactly zero numbers to back this up, just a feeling based on a year of curating posts

First off:

When I first got my Steemit account, you gave me my first 1 SBD and it was magic ... Thanks for that :D

I know it doesn't feel that way, but the rewardpool is the same as before the hardfork.
And that's where all the rewards come from.

This is going to make STEEM moon very soon. A few thousand STEEM are now enough to provide a living wage to about half of the planet's population via curation.

This is going to be insane.

It was mostly not used/generated. There was never the opportunity to give so much with one single upvote, so the money was never there to give! We are now given the opportunity to give more at once, but suffer the consequence of not being able to give so much again (at least for a longer period of time). That's all.

I am definitely noticing my voting power drops way, way faster

Should be a drop of 2% each time you vote.

Yes, seems about right. So... hard... to... not... upvote...

No.

The rewardpool gets distributed any way.

I believe that would be correct. It was just concentrated and not spread around by the small users?

The formula to calculate the rewards changed.

Before it was rshares² now it's just rshares ...

It's good to ask these questions especially when everyone else is hopping in blindly just happy to take all the money they can.

Yes - I'm very curious. Seems like an enormous black hole

Thx for the info.

It's just distributed differently now...no?

Yes, it is but it feels like a dam has broken and this huge flood of wealth is suddenly flowing where before it was a trickle

The rewards were going mostly to top articles - the original system design was to concentrate the rewards in a minority of posts.

The long tail of rewards should be a lot "fatter" now.

Yes, I agree and have curated extensively over the past year. My 'sense' is that there is far, far more wealth being distributed than the aggregate of the top trending posts

Developers sold some of their BTC, I assume...

Hmmm... possible

Good question!! Now i am having a full time job only for making comments on Steemit. :-D

Yes, there is an angle and a devil on my shoulder right now. Do I upvote others or do I upvote myself? Greed is a fickle master

LOL!!!! EXACTLY my dilemma!!!

We will be like

How did you do that in your comment?

The Leo DiCaprio gif

drag the image into your post.

That is a really good question. I agree, I think for months Ive been feeding on the few scraps that dropped off the plate lol. This is great IF it lasts and IF its not a bug. Followed :)

If this is sustainable Steemit is going to change the world

Yes and if it is the way @sneak says it is above, then some guys that were literally getting rich everyday are NOT going to be happy with the change!!! Can you imagine? Sure seems to be a lot more cash moving around now, but maybe its just being divided/ spread around more??? I'm stumped...

I have a strong sense that the wealth Steemit was built to distribute is now flowing where is was supposed to go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67783.91
ETH 3783.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48