The Blockchain Changed My Life

in #steemit7 years ago

I've known of Bitcoin since 2011 when I was supporting Ron Paul's presidential bid. At the time, I was extremely interested in gold and items that store value. Of course, like many people, I'm kicking myself for not buying Bitcoin back then. In 2016, I started doing much more research into the cryptocurrency world. I started understanding how Bitcoin worked and how interesting this space was. I was fascinated how cryptocurrencies lived within its own economy, outside of the matrix. I started to really see the value the blockchain can provide to the whole world. After gaining this knowledge, it's amazing to me how many people are underestimating this type of technology. Once you understand it, this is clearly the future and where technology is heading.


Source

Pyramid Schemes

I started buying small amounts of Bitcoin to be apart of the growing community. I discovered Bitcoin faucets and started earning small amounts of Satoshis. One thing led to another and before I knew it I found myself on pyramid scheme crypto sites or HYIP (High Yield Investment Programs). Dreaming of 10-20% daily Bitcoin profits per day. I decided to join three different websites claiming these returns. I started will really small amounts. One one site, which claimed the biggest return, my $40 dollar investment started paying a profit. I was so excited, I had the great idea of investing a $1000 dollars worth of Bitcoin and gain $100 return per day. I naively assumed I would be rich quick with this amazing website that I knew nothing about. But, like all Ponzi schemes, the good times must come to end. Luckily, I was able to collect $700 out of my $1000 back, then the site stopped paying. Phew, I had a little loss but didn't give up. I started doing more research into the crypto world and realized I shouldn't jump so quickly into things I don't completely understand.


Source

Steemit Revolution

After scouring the internet for ways to make money in the crypto space and claim my stake in this booming industry, I stumbled on Steemit.com. I spent some time reading up on the Steem community, read the white paper, and was convinced this was an amazing idea. I already had a passion for writing so the transition to Steem was easy. Steemit, the blogging service where you earn rewards for the amount of value you provide to the community. It was a way to "mine" cryptocurrency, just by writing and doing something I already enjoyed. I didn't need high powered computer to mine, I could just write my using my laptop. Immediately after signing up for Steem I was hooked. At the time, Steem was already around for a couple of months.


Source

Learn quickly

I decided to start off my first couple of posts by writing and providing horrible content. I quickly learned this was not going to help me become successful on Steemit. I tried writing better content as time went on. I met some great friends who helped me post articles and gain exposure. I ended up collecting a nice amount of Steem and converted it to Bitcoin. I started writing for Steem every day and enjoyed every second of it. Just this week the price of Steem shot up in value and I'm looking to forward to the evolution of the community.

The Future

After doing research into Steem, I found Ethereum and thought it was extremely cool. Ethereum allows companies to build applications right on the Ethereum blockchain. Microsoft has already placed bets on this new technology. Over the last year Ethereum has had its fair share of drama. Two applications being built within Ethereum are changing things, XE coin and SingularDTV. XE coin is a cryptocurrency that is going to help provide electricity for the world. SingularDTV is a Netflix-like application running on the blockchain.


Source

Optimistic

The future looks bright in cryptocurrencies and technology. I'm placing my bets into different coins and think once paper currencies collapse this is going to take over. Blockchains are going to further integrate our lives with technology. Out of nowhere many different altcoins surged in value and brought more confidence within the market. Time will tell where the blockchain will take us, but I'm looking forward to being deeply involved in this community. It's great to be apart of something in the beginning when no one really understands its power yet. Let's continue to change how the world works!

Please upvote, resteem, comment, and follow me.

Sincerely Yours,

@johnnyyash

Sort:  

Blockchain technology is in it's infancy. It has tremendous potential in that it documents all different kinds of transactions preventing hacking, crime and providing security in transactions. It will change the world in ways not yet imagined.

you have nice story. i wish i can become as crypto as you but i am still learning and i started all my learning on steemit, so i am still abit behind. like you, getting on steemit, i started to pick interest in crypto and blockchain stuff. i have missed on all the coins like bitcoin, eth etc but i dont have a cent of it. i have some steem though but i have never cashed out. only recently did i try the trading aspect but only to sell steem for steem dollar. it would have been nice though to be able to convert steem to a growing coin then use it back on steemit to perhaps increase steem power etc. i wish i had a guide or mentor but it is all good!

I recommend watching videos on how Bitcoin works. You can also purchase small amounts of Bitcoin. Although, Bitcoin Unlimited was just released, and people are mining it. I'm about to purchase a BTU coin right now for $250 USD. You should also do research on Ethereum, right now it is $40 USD a coin. I'm way behind still too, but just keep learning as much as you can. You still have time to get in on good opportunities.

gosh, u just said alot. is bitcoin unli like btc itself. is it projected to have same growth or success growth as bit coin. isnt btu too expensive for 250? how long ago did it start?

No one knows at this point about Bitcoin Unlimited. Read up on it. I just bought one to have one. I'll probably pick up another one eventually. A lot of people are starting to mine it. Exchanges are talking about adding it.

yes, i will have to read up. but what small coin do you forsee apart from steem that has the tech to rise. on steemit, i have seen burst, vivacoin and pivx, how do you see these?

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Yes HYIP is alluring but it can all disappear really quick. I don't walk away I run away from those things. Thank you for your back story in Crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43