What are the most disappointing tags on Steemit? Here is my choice:

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Update: The worst tag I've found now is #climate-change (which is ideally strongly related to #science). Something like 80-90% of the most popular articles are worse than trash. Something to work on Steemit!

If Steemit is to be successful, the quality of postings will have to improve. I love posting here, but when it comes to finding great content I've been going elsewhere. For those who wade through the New posts, how long does it take you to find something worth reading? What percent of posts with the tag you are looking at actually relate to that tag?
To me, the worst offender I've found so far is the Science tag. On a recent count only 10-20% of new science-tagged posts had anything to do with real actual science. Pseudoscience, anti-science, and science fiction made up the majority and then 20% just seemed to throw science in there for no obvious reason. There is a reason the science subreddits are so heavily policed I guess.
What are the Steemit tags you've had the biggest issues with?
image

Sort:  

As I'm basically only interested in the science tag (and mostly producing content to post there) I share your disappointment.
Sadly, there are many people who think they know what science is but don't have any scientific background at all.
Additionally, a lot of posts are just ripped off other websites..

Re-posting this so you will see it as well. There are groups trying to help clean up the science tag like the one I participate in (@steemstem), however it's extremely difficult since we have no control what people vote on. Flagging stuff doesn't fix the issue, so the only solution seems to be to promote and help good content get rewarded. Even still #science is a mess. You should also know that it was much much worse before we and others started. We have a chat on steemit.chat as well #steemSTEM if you are interested in stopping by

Definitely doing that!

Do you have any ideas? New tag? I'm a scientist, and I've been hoping to generate more discussion with my posts, but I feel like that is (partially) affected by the overall content in the science tag.

I'm currently planning to start working together with the steemcleaners who flag plagiarized posts into oblivion. Those posts aren't deleted but won't be shown on the new/trending/hot pages anymore.
The new posts of those users will immediately meet the same fate, so over time, the tag should improve.

That's very draining work though, so another option is to just keep posting good content on a regular basis, you will get recognition at one point. Just don't give up! I'm checking out your posts now.

So far I haven't done much browsing by tag, save photography (pretty related), and cryptocurrency (also not too much off topic).

A big offender IMHO is introduceyourself, too many people kep posting here as though it is a lifestyle tag.

The best case scenario is for better "weight" to be given to upvotes when they keep the topics well curated and perhaps add a "miscatagorized" flag that doesen't kill a post but could kill an erroneous tag.

I guess you indirectly did talk about science.

:) I could say that it was commentary on the current state of mislabeling science posts or I could say that I DID science. I had a hypothesis, did research on it, posted my findings, and the peer review seems to be coming back mostly positive.

Perhaps it's better NOT to browse tags? Follow high-quality authors and just browse your feed. Of course, good authors can turn bad over time and everyone can resteem some rubbish from time to time... if it gets really unacceptable, unfollow them and they are gone.

I get that concept, but feel like new writers won't get discovered if everyone does that. I also think it is strange we can't follow tags on here. I intend to write about several distinct topics and imagine people who follow me aren't interested in all of them. I guess the solution currently is to have a separate account for each topic, but that seems like a lot of work!

Yes, as Steemit grows it will become harder and harder and harder to get noticed. However, I would say that's true for other social media platforms too. Some crypto tags can be really helpful, for example science content tagged #gridcoin or #golem will always attract more attention. Crypto-whales of all sorts swim here and if one wants more attention, it's always a good idea to put a little crypto-angle on that new article. The times, they are a-changing.

There are groups trying to help clean up the science tag like the one I participate in (@steemstem), however it's extremely difficult since we have no control what people vote on. Flagging stuff doesn't fix the issue, so the only solution seems to be to promote and help good content get rewarded. Even still #science is a mess. You should also know that it was much much worse before we and others started. We have a chat on steemit.chat as well #steemSTEM if you are interested in stopping by

Thanks for the recommendation! I got chat working today and joined #steemSTEM.

You know, I am pretty new, so I am going to have to explore more of the tags, but I see what you are saying. I'm going to look deeper and see if I can find some examples like you listed science. This is an eye opening post. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44