@johnadams Dr. of Philosophy joins blockchain Steemit Vlog

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi, I’m Dr. John Corrigan. I’m a professor of philosophy and The Director of Sales and Marketing for HMI Keypadsolutions human machine interface manufacturing company.
My Steemit username is johnadams after the American - U.S. [founding father] (mailto:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Founding_Fathers_of_the_United_States) [John Adams]
(mailto:https://www.britannica.com/biography/John-Adams-president-of-United-States) who was also the second president of the U.S. But by choosing that name I’m not endorsing all of his actions and positions. He was the grandfather to another president [John Quincy Adams] (mailto:https://www.britannica.com/biography/John-Quincy-Adams)
who played a key role in the debates about slavery as portrayed in the movie [Amistad] (mailto:http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0118607/). His victory forced the country to reconsider their views on many things.
I am a professor of philosophy and I will be vlogging and bloggin on philosophy, life, travel and probably a few other things.
I am a small cap stock investor and cryptocurrency and blockchain enthusiast. I’m also very interested in law especially constitutional law and the topics of reforming our system back to the original founding documents and ideals of a Republican form of Government in the history of the English Common Law / Natural Law / Constitutional Law system. Such as was found in the early years of our Republic. Another historical example of this is found in the establishment of Switzerland as a free republic following the brave actions of Wilhelm Tell against the tyrrants of his day. (I don’t mean “republican” as a political party).
Good philosophy, the founders, cryptocurrencies and blockchain all have something in common which attracts me. That is the recurring principle of virtue as the basis for human freedom and flourishing. Freedom flourishes with virtue, knowledge and courage. This was the belief of our founders and if we wish to “light a candle rather than curse the darkness” I believe it is the path for us as well.
While I have positions I am willing to defend I believe in an open dialogue with anyone who is truthful about their positions and beliefs and shares an interest in life, philosophy and human progress.
I believe in the human soul as an indestructible metaphysical person who survives physical death similar to what is discussed by Socrates, Plato, Aristotle and Confucius. I enjoy discussions on the possible existence of God, the role of good philosophy the above topics and many more.
I’d like to send a shout out to [Christian Lains] (mailto:https://steemit.com/steemit/@veryhype/steemit-introduction-by-bitspace-co-founder-christian-lains-questions-answered) who continually mentions his background in philosophy when discussing Steemit. It was the above video of his that convinced me to join Steemit and so to speak “take my Ph.D. to the blockchain” as a sign and participator in the revolution in thought, economics and freedom we are witnessing.
I hope we can engage in some exciting and fascinating exchanges, building real human value as well as steemit value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47