You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO GET HACKED LIKE A DONK (and other stuff for regular people in the blockchain)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Is SteemING.com a real mirror or application of Steemit by @Yehey? I logged into it and it is identical to how Steemit looks. Busy.org has different features. I see the different levels of passwords, or keys, in the wallet of Steemit, and that is good for people to understand.

Sort:  

I am not sure , I asked about it in a chat just now. I wouldn't put your password in. Just only use your password for STeemit.com. Other sites like Dlive, Dtube, and dmania, you only need to put your posting key in also.

For some transactions, Steemit specifically asks for your password, like sending a # private message, yet doesn't tell you if afterwards you have to log out and log back in with a posting or active key. We have no way of knowing what the system doesn't tell us.

Yeah, I don't feel like it is very clear, and the fact that we need our master to change our profile picture is kind of counter to the concept of "your master is only used for resetting your account". Its kind of a mundane action that should only require positing key

Steeming's wallet doesn't let you show the memo's private key, which is the last key (password code) at the bottom. You cannot click on it to show or hide the memo in Steeming.com like you can in Steemit.com. You can show the first 2 keys for Posting and Active. Does this mean Steeming has less access to my account than Steemit has? Can I change my owner's key?

I think I logged into Steeming with my active key and not my owner key. Therefore, does that mean Steeming cannot steal my money without the owner key? Is my Steemit password not the same as my owner's key? And is the owner key the same as a master key?

Yes and active key can transfer money, I would reset to be sure. Also, even if the scam account doesn't "save" the password on your computer doesn't mean they don't have it, if you put it in they save it on their end. I would just do a reset to be sure.Someone told me @yehey is a witness, so they think its trusted, but I don't understand WHY there would be a mirror of steemit hosted on another url?

Let me help clear some of the questions.

Steemit.com website is a open source condenser site. You can make your own website for yourself or offer it to the public just like what I did for https://yehey.org or https://steeming.com websites it was design using load balancing and GEO location to speed up the loading of website. It is hosted in multiple locations in USA and Europe.

The open source website is available in public. Here's the link, you can read the code.
https://github.com/steemit/condenser

As we continue to grow, more condenser website will come out. Your due diligent will always needed before you login using your account.

Regarding account, you only need to login using your "POSTING KEY" not the ACTIVE key, to comment and reply.

Why use other mirror site?
Keep in mind, we are distributed network no dependency to any websites like steemit.com yehey.org or other websites to access the STEEM Blockchain.
If you're using steemit long enough, you probably experience slow access using steemit.com sometime a dead page, that's where other mirrors site comes in.
And even @Ned encourage developers to develop more website and mobile apps to promote steem.

I hope that helps.

And if you still have questions, please come join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

And if you like what I do, vote for me as your Witness.

Thank you.

Interesting, thank you. If someone signs up through one of these mirror sites, the person hosting the url will be able to possibly capture input passwords correct? Are these like little mini islands of centralized chunks of steemian accounts? I am not a programmer and have only basic computer science knowledge, I might be saying stuff really wrong....

I can't speak for other condenser sites, they normally post an update about it.

For my condensers website (https://yehey.org or https://steeming.com) it doesn't save Post or Active key. When a user login, they will be authenticated directly to the blockchain. A simple analogy, a condenser sites is another door to access the STEEM blockchain.

And if you want to know the technical stuff, you can read the code it's open source.
https://github.com/steemit/condenser

Steeming.com project is to extend using mobile apps. The condenser site is simply my staging server and will see how far it can go.

I prefer to login using my own server, I know it's not so busy compare to Steemit.com :)

Got it, thank you for all the information! I will definitely read through :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44