An Evening Learning About Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

I cannot remember where online I first overheard about this new blockchain based social media platform, but I was immediately intrigued to search deeper. I spent the next four weeks procrastinating when to sign up as I was well occupied with summer classes and editing poetry in my spare time. With the semester coming to a close, I finally made the leap to satisfy my curiosity and joined up to look around. What I found was a wealth of information ranging from the usual anarcho-capitalist topics like cryptocurrency and freeing yourself from the statist system to typical articles you would find on other blogging sites such as Medium. I reposted two articles from my website to experiment with how the process of uploading articles went. The text portion of the process was smooth, however, images seemed to fail miserably as Steemit refused to recognize them. As a novice coder, because I'm obviously more geared towards the fictional side of writing, I couldn't understand why the creative commons images I used could not be viewed. I haven't attempted to post any videos on Steemit, but I'm certain the ordeal is more rigorous than posting images inside of articles. 

I must admit the truth, Steemit I believe has incredible potential to succeed as a mainstream blockchain technology once the general population catches on. Although at the moment I have no idea how Steemit works code-wise, unless I actually chose to read the whitepaper that I have downloaded to read at my convenience. I realize Steemit remains in beta mode, meaning bugs in the coding must be fixed, and the fact blockchain as a technology is quite infant yet. Regardless of the fate of all blockchain projects, Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Steemit to name a few, they all will provide the necessary courage to undertake riskier and more difficult projects in the future. I am grateful as a participant of this disruptive technology that will strike social media and currency as we perceive them as how email disrupted statist controlled postal service. 

On a personal note, my name is Joel Hovell, and I'm a creative writer by trade. I published my first novel in December of 2015 on Amazon with subsequent titles in various stages of editing. I am enrolled in college as a phlebotomy student, though I formerly was studying electrical engineering. I'm 23 years old and currently diagnosed with Crohn's Disease, Social Anxiety, and Depression. All of which magnify the symptoms of the others to become a single entity more fierce than any obstacles I've faced beforehand. The good news is that there's hope for individuals like myself as scientists in Europe are developing a vaccine for Crohn's. Phase one trials are planned to begin in December 2016. In other words, I may not be your typical person, but nobody is the same anyway.

In respect those who have dedicated their lives to create this social media platform, I am honored to play a role in this wondrous story still unfolding. For everyone else posting content, keep up the good work and have yourself a wonderful day! 

Sort:  

NIce, keep going write in steemit.... :)

great post! and welcome to steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38