SECOND CHANCE EPISODE 4

in #steemit7 years ago

second chance.jpg

Episode 4

‘Naomi?’ Kenneth asked ‘but Naomi is gone’
‘you are a liar Kenneth. Naomi is here. Bring Naomi or
i will……..’ he coughed. ‘kill……you’ Tony stammered.
Kenneth laughed ‘Tony, this isnt the way you should
be behaving, are you stupid? Its a good
thing you
called me here when you were still sober, lets go. Your
daughter is calling you’
‘my daughter? Do i have a daughter? Oh yes Maria. Is
it Maria or Rhoda? Who is Rhoda?’ Tony asked as he
snatched the drink from Kenneth’s grip.
Kenneth couldnt stop laughing. ‘seriously Tony, you
are behaving like a……….’ Tony’s phone rang again and
Tony jumped for joy.
‘Naomi is calling me, lets go Ken. Naomi is waiting for
me, she must have prepared my favourite, lets go’ he
said as he staggered then he sat down again, the
smile on his face gone.
‘its true, she is dead. She will never come back again.’
he added and he started crying like a baby.


‘Tony darling.’ Naomi said gently tapping Tony on the
shoulder.

‘yes my love’ Tony said as he stood up trying to hug
her but surprisingly, she stopped him.
‘no Tony you cant come now. Tony please stop being
miserable, please take good care of yourself. You
deserve to be happy’ Naomi said looking pitiful.
‘oh Naomi. I’m sorry i got drunk alright’
‘just be a good father to my daughter, i love you’ she
said as she turned to leave.
‘where are you going?’ he asked
‘to see my daughter’ she said and her voice echoed.
His head began to ache and he woke up and realised
it was all a dream. He looked around and he knew he
was in his room.
He soon realised that Naomi was not happy with his
drinking. He tried to remember how he got home but
he couldnt. Maybe Kenneth brought him home. He
looked around the room and saw Naomi’s beautiful
face in a portrait. He smiled back at the picture. His
door swung open immediately.


Maria walked in clad in her neat and well ironed
school uniform with a frown across her face.
‘good morning dad’ she greeted relunctantly
‘good morning Maria, how was your night?’ he asked
‘not fine dad! All thanks to you. You got me really
worried with your behaviour last night you!’
she said while pouting her sexy lips.

Tony bent his head in shame.
‘i’m sorry’ he muttered
‘i really didnt like what you did. Even mum wasnt
pleased with what you did ooo’ she said.
Tony raised his head up ‘your mum?’
‘i saw her in my dreams she was sad. I’m not pleased
at all’ Maria said.
‘my apologies. Anyways was it Ken who brought me
home?’ he asked while trying to calm the tension.
‘yes dad. I’m sorry about the way i spoke to you. I
was really worried’
‘thats okay my child. I understand. You are just like
your mother who will always scold me anytime i
drink’ he said amidst laughter.
‘why did you drink?’
‘i couldnt seem to take Naomi out of my mind thats
why i resulted to drinking’
Maria smiled ‘i’m glad you couldnt take her off your
mind. At least that will keep you away from other
women who want to reap where they did not sow!’


As Alice dressed Felix up for school, her phone rang. It
was a foriegn number and she suspected it to be
Ansa.
She picked the call
‘hello’
‘hello Alice dear’
‘oh! Ansa, i suspected this number to be yours and
see i was right’
‘hahaha did you miss me?’
‘not really lolz’
‘i see. Then why am i even calling? I’m hanging up’
‘hang on Ansa, must you always tease me all the
time?’
‘sorry Alice. Guess what?’
‘what? You just won a lottery?’
‘no’
‘you divorced your wife and married again’
‘God forbid! I love my wife, i can never divorce her for
anything in the world!’
‘indeed! So whats the news?’
‘Nkechi and i plan to come to Nigeria for xmas’
‘really? That will be cool’
‘what of my boy Felix?’
‘he is fine oo’
‘Alice have you been able to give him another father?’
‘not yet Ansa’
‘okay bye’
‘bye Ansa, love you’
‘love you too Alice’
He hung up.


The door bell rang. Alice left the kitchen and answered
the door. It was her mother Kofo.
They exchanged pleasantries and Kofo sat down. Alice
was about to go back to the kitchen when she called
her back.
‘Alice, i can see that there is something wrong with
you upstairs. Thats what i came to correct.’ Kofo said
angrily.
Alice was taken aback by her mother’s attitude but it
wasnt new to her.
‘mother, is there anything i’ve done wrong?’ Alice
asked.
‘yes! Alice, are you the only woman who has lost a
loved one in this world? He was not even your

husband before he died, so whats wrong with you?’
Kofo ranted. Alice became pale but her mother
couldnt care less. She must bring back the Alice she
once knew, she didnt care how she would do it.
‘i specifically asked you to come visit on new year
day. You promised but i didnt see you. All the
preparations i made were all wasted and you didnt
even bother to call us till this moment i am speaking
to you. Tell me, is it fair? Your father and i were
greatly disappointed. We waited patiently for your call
but you didnt call. We called you three times but you
didnt pick and even after seeing our missed calls, you
couldnt call back. Whats wrong with you?’ Kofo said
not minding the tears flowing freely from Alice’s eyes.
‘dont shed crocodile tears for me. You know what you
did was wrong. You are the only child we have. How
would you feel if Felix treats you this way? Its six
years now since Benjamin died but you have not been
able to bring a man to us. What were you thinking?
That by wallowing in your misery Benjamin will come
back to. If thats what you think, then you are a liar!
When was the last time you visited us eh? Tell me’
Kofo said. Alice bowed her head in guilt.
‘i’m sorry mother. I didnt mean to’
‘shut up! You didnt mean to do what eh?’ Kofo stood
up and slapped Alice twice. Alice cried the more.
‘many mothers like me have sons and daughters in
law but my own will be different. Why? Because i
have an immature girl for a daughter. A daughter who
would bring nothing but pain to her mother! Look
Alice, i give you seven days to come and apologise
to your father and i. If you do not come, when next i
come again, i will tear your clothes from your body.
Idiot?’ Kofo said and stormed out.

To Be Continued

COMMENT AND ALSO FOLLOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49