You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why ReddCoin failed where Steemit succeeded?

in #steemit7 years ago

As someone who works within the blogging, online content and digital marketing space, I can see the appear of both platforms.

Being new to Steem, I feel it needs some UI work and upgrades before it can become readily adopted by the mainstream. Lets just say it doesn't seem intuitive or user friendly. However, I can tell the core community (many of which are interested in crypto) is very invested in it which is great. However, I just wonder how many non-fringe interest contributors are on here? Are there followers on here? How will they move across?

Personally, I haven't started contributing my commercial posts here because I my audience is not here. They are on Facebook and YouTube.

Personally, I liked social media back in the old days. There was a lot more original, genuine content around. I also feel viewers had a longer attention span.

Today it seems its all about perfect photos, click bait or emotionally triggering posts. ..all things that are serving some kind of ulterior commercial agenda.

I just hope that the Steemit remuneration model encourages better quality content. I have seen marketers game other platforms and I feel that this platform could be open to some black hat abuse. If this goes too far it could change the nature of the platform and the community. And people would leave or tolerate it only because it can earn them some money, but it will be a weak motive for viewers.

Reddcoin on the other hand relies on human motivation and actions. I feel this would encourage high quality original content, as people would need to be highly compelled to take an action and donate. It will also be available where people currently hang out. So they don't need to leave all their friends and followers in order to enjoy the benefits.

For this reason, I personally like the idea of Reddcoin. But, their core team has changed and progress seems painfully slow. I really hope that can pull it together and achieve their goals for 2017.

Adoption may be slow, but it's easy integration will see gain traction. I feel it could be used to fund small community projects, pre-sell new new services and offers or just be used by highly engaged fans to support content producers. But, my understanding is not that deep so I may be wrong.

In any case, I don't see it being an issue to advertisers such as FB or YouTube etc. Marketers and brands will still continue to advertise with them. If they don't, they won't be able to reach their customers. I don't see Facebook etc having an issue with allowing ReddCoin to integrate. Private ReddCoin donations will just make the blogging and online content curation industry even more profitable and encourage more growth in this area. ...which in turn, means for revenue for the platforms. It would be a symbiotic relationship.

Basically, it's still early days and Reddcoin have been making slow progress compared to Steemit. But that doesn't mean they have failed, they are just preparing to run the marathon meanwhile Steemit is winning the sprint.

I'd be interested to know your thoughts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93