WARNING!!!! I Just Got SCAMMED Yesterday. WARNING!!! SCAM on Steemit Account.

in #steemit7 years ago

I just want to warn all the Steemers, especially the new ones that there is a SCAM going around and I was one of the stupid ones to fall for it. Right after I realized I was scammed, everything just came to me and I couldn't believe I felt for it, but I really didn't think this kind of scam exists here, which was pretty silly of me because it exists everywhere I guess.

I'm pretty new in this community and still learning constantly daily on it. Yesterday was one of those days that I decided to go on Steemit.Chat for the first time because I heard this is a good place to learn and chat with people. I posted one of my posts on it, and within 5 minutes on it, I received a message from @val.a (had a picture of him on his profile) stating that he can upvote me with his 100% power. He linked his Steem Power picture, (not his, but real steemers' account) which looked good. Then he asked how much can I send him?

My first thought was, that sounds good, and because I had a really good day, I thought it is just one of my lucky days and that he is just wanting to support steemers, which is nothing new here on Steemit. Just a few days ago I saw a post where steemers pay some money even up to $30 (I believe to some kind of bots) and when they get upvoted with 100% their post gets upvoted with more than $100. So I thought this is good. But my gut was telling me to check this person out, so I did.

I checked for val.a on Steemit (who is real steemer, but the scammer used his identity, so just to make it clear, val.a is NOT A SCAMMER) and his wallet and his comments and I even found out that he is one of the whales, so I pretty much felt for it, not realizing that Steemit.chat is a totally separate site from Steemit, till afterward, it all made it clear. I didn't think that there are scammers trying to steal your money because its a community where everyone is trying to help each other and because everyone can see each other's wallets, I thought it must be really safe, otherwise, we wouldn't be able to see other peoples wallets.

I tried to ask him questions which he didn't really answer, which was sort of a red flag for me, but I just thought he doesn't really know English very well, which there are lots of people who know little English on Steemit. I don't know many people here on Steemit, so I didn't know who to ask for advice to check if this is right. And I still don't know where to look or where I should REPORT this SCAM to. So please let me know in the comments what can I do and where I can report this scam to.

So I send him 5 SBD and never heard from him again. I don't really care for the 5 SBD, but I'm scared that maybe my account is not secured anymore and that they (scammers)can get to it.

Please don't ever fall for this on Steemit.Chat and never send anyone your account information or any money. If someone asks for money on Steemit.chat, don't assume that these people are who they say they are because it is very easy to just copy any person on Steemit and their wallet and use it as their identity.

DSC03136.JPG

DSC03137.JPG

DSC03139.JPG

I feel really embarrassed and stupid for what I did, because looking back now there were so many red flags, but when you are a person who trusts everyone you don't assume the worst of it, but I had to share this with everyone, like I said, especially with the newer steemers, so that you know there are scammers here and maybe you can learn from my stupid mistakes, I know I did.

Sort:  

I also got random msg on steemchat not val.a but there are many there. So be aware.
Especially a new commer.
Make steemit spam/scam free

Thanks for the advice. Yes! Make steemit spam/scam free!!!

That sucks man, DM for upvotes is always a red flag.

I'm sending you one Steem for sharing this story and hope you don't let it deter you from this great community.

Wow. Thank you so much @erodedthoughts. That was so kind of you, I really, really appreciate it. Yes, right afterward I thought of it and it is a huge red flag. I still love and trust the steemit community, because they have been so supportive and helpful since day one. And then there are amazing people like you, who make this place even more amazing. Thank you again.

You don't have to worry about your Steemit account being compromised.
You lost 5 Steem Dollars, but that is it.

I don't know that you can do anything to report this.
I don't even see that account name on chat anymore, so they must have already deleted it.

Ok. Thank you so much @canadian-coconut for your help. It makes me feel better. You are a good Steemian friend and I really appreciate your support.

You are welcome.
We all make mistakes sometimes by reacting too quickly.

Agreed. I make most of my mistakes by reacting too quickly because I feel pressured to make the decision right away. I have to learn to slow down and go with my gut next time.

I just read this. They are scamming a lot of people by impersonating different large Steemit accounts.

https://steemit.com/curie/@curie/scam-alert-please-do-not-send-money-to-anyone-claiming-to-be-curie

Oh damn... :-( I'm sorry for you. Thanks for sharing your story. I sent you 1 SBD too, and be carefull, scammers are everywhere!

Thank you so much @troilo for your gift. That was very, very kind of you and I really appreciate it. That is why Steemit community is the best, because of people like you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78