You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit ramps up CENSORSHIP

in #steemit6 years ago

I don't necessarily see this as being a bad outcome. The STEEM Blockchain has not been censored at all. Steemit.com is just one way (granted the most common and well known way) to access the STEEM blockchain. The @thedarkoverlord account has just been hidden from steemit. As a US registered company, I imagine there would have been a significant legal risk for them to not take some action. What would be worse - Steemit hiding that account, or steemit being shut down by authorities? The posts and account are still visible, just not on steemit. I think this shows a strength of this system, whereby the chain itself cannot be censored, and there are multiple platforms to view the chain, so if one censors, others will not. There are plenty of alternatives to Steemit that will allow you to keep on STEEM, without needing steemit.

Sort:  

I don't necessarily see it as a bad outcome for everyone, either. But it's a bad outcome for me, since I'm completely intolerant to censorship.
Perhaps you skimmed my post? I already covered everything you commented.
Summary: I won't tolerate censorship. Steemit is ramping up censorship. I'm now looking for a way to escape that.

I don't disagree with your sentiment, and I also favour zero censorship. Shifting to another front end over this issue is your right, and taking a moral stand is to be applauded. My point is that this issue demonstrates the strength of STEEM, and that unlike mainstream social media the blockchain itself can't be censored. 1 companies actions (to protect themselves legally) have done nothing to censor the chain.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right that the STEEM blockchain hasn't and won't be censored. I'm still quite favourable overall to the blockchain, just much-less-so for Steemit.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59