Steemit: An Addiction You Can Afford

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

MY NEWLY DISCOVERED ADDICTION: STEEMIT

(Just a pic of me)

Today marks my 20th day as a new member on steemit. Unbeknownst to me at the time of discovering the community, I was confused, lost, and felt I stepped off onto another planet. Signing up, I never imagined I would come to love steemit. I was not too sure I was committed to using this platform, or sticking around long enough to find out. All I was interested in was my new obtained 13.24 STEEM, which I saw as the value, not steemit, not the community. Well you know how the old saying goes, you hang around the barber shop long enough, eventually you'll get your haircut. So I decided to browse steemit and see what this revolutionary platform was all about.

LOST IN TRANSITION

My initial feelings toward the platform were not good ones. I didn't understand the concept of the Power Up, SBD, and how STEEM played it's part. Remember, I saw STEEM as the value. I became aggravated. This tends to happen when nothing seems to make sense. But, nothing did. It's funny how before I started browsing steemit and confusing myself even more, I was truly convinced or sold on the idea of just removing myself from this community. But ironically, the more confused I became, the more I became interested in figuring it all out. I was confused on why I was more interested in sticking around under the increased confusion. It wasn't until I recognized STEEM's purpose, that I would become more involved, as well as supporting, the diverse and talented community of steemit.

I CAN SEE CLEARLY NOW

I was lost. I was blind. However, my determination kept me from letting the blindness stop me in my tracks. I continued to research all I could. Thankfully I didn't give up. I had figured out the system. I needed STEEM to convert into Steem Power, to strengthen my voting power, to upvote the great content I came across. After a few days. I was investing more of my money into STEEM to accumulate my SP. The more I started to understand, the more clear understanding how the community of steemit worked. I then started to see how Facebook, YouTube, Google, etc. used it's users to grow their platforms, profiting off their user database. Then I saw how steemit was using the community to build the steemit platform bigger and better. The only difference was, steemit was paying users to help grow and strengthen the community as a whole, while Facebook, YouTube, Google, etc. were just using their users to make the companies a profit. They'll still are using their communities to profit off of, Steemit does not. The addiction to steemit began. I was now committed to staying with steemit.

UNLIMITED POSSIBILITIES

I can't believe the journey I took to get here. I never would of imagined that my $5 dollar investment of LTC and my $5 dollar investment of ETH back in November 23, 2017, that grew to $20, would be the starting line that would lead me on the road towards those initial 13.24 STEEM, which itself would lead me to steemit. I truly believe, at this moment, I was meant to discover steemit. I can see how the community is what makes this platform strong, and what makes the platform to continually grow. It's the steemit community. It's not necessarily the STEEM, SBD, or SP that runs this platform, it's the community. Without the community, there wouldn't be steemit. The steemit community is the value. So now I see STEEM as the gas that runs the platform in whole, which allows a strong and talented community to expand the growth of a platform in which its community brings to life, so it will continue to grow into the future.

WORDS OF CLOSURE

I want to say to everyone who read this, and/or any of my other content, THANK YOU!! It is individuals like you that keep me going. Also, I would like to say thanks to all the veterans who have, and will, continue encouraging new steemians. These are the kind of caring individuals in this community that do make steemit so much better, and of course, addicting. 

Sort:  

I know the feeling. I think that we all started off in the same place. Still here though and going strong.

Staying strong, no looking back! Full STEEM ahead!

@jjohnson78, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Welcome to steemit! Glad you stuck it out and totally agree with your outlook. It's a pleasure to get to know you a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42