My First Week on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

I joined Steemit on the 25th of September excited by what Steemit seemed to offer. Having stumbled across Steemit via DTube while researching IPFS decentralised internet technology; I couldn't wait to start interacting with the community.

After leaving a few comments on posts made by others, up voting some articles I found interest and just generally exploring Steemit; I decided to write an "introduceyourself" post. Much to my surprise, I received quite a number of comments.

I discovered how to find these comments the next day (26/9) and went to reply to these comments, to only receive an error. Confused, I continued to explore. I found an article I liked and try to up vote it. Same error. Soon I learned that Steemit had experienced an update of kinds called a Hardfork, which I'm still yet to fully understand. It appeared that I wasn't the only one having issues after a short Google search lead me to the Reddit and Facebook pages full of people complaining their world was over and they were nothing without Steemit. Others were quite angry.

Eventually, I found posts made by the site admin (?) which reassured everyone that things would be back to normal very soon. It wasn't long before I discovered http://www.steemd.com and found my resource credits etc. I decided on the 27/9 to attempt to write some content offline ready for when things came back online. However, I'm currently not very proud of what I have created so far. I guess the writing ability will be like anything. With practice and repetition, it will improve.

Nice weather and the weekend brought distractions, so I didn't check on Steemit until today 1/10 where I can see things are a lot different regarding resource points. Turns out I've gone from an expected 3 comments a day to approximately 20 comments a day according to http://www.steemd.com.

Hopefully the change in resource points and the new system will make Steemit continue to grow. I look forward with optimism that I will enjoy this creative outlet and hopefully find some interesting content. I hope to learn a lot.

Jim

Sort:  

the cost to post and vote was absurdly high right after the hard fork, and there where issues even outside that (people carries a 'debt' forward from the old system to the new; I initally had somethingk like a 1.5 Quardillion RC debt... Things seem to have settled down a bit, and the cost of posts and votes is temporarily reduces to 1/10 of its initial cost... you joined at just the wrong time, lol.

Glad to see you stuck it out, and looking forward to your posts (particularly about amateur radio).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43