Better Days After Facebook - Here's Why

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)



I became active on Steemit after a short break from all social media including Facebook and Twitter. After using them for many years I suddenly decided that I needed a break. At the time I was not sure why but when I look back I am happy that I took the decision.

The first thing that I am thankful for is the continuous notifications that used to come on my smartphone. Whether it was when I was commuting to my office, at my desk, when I was going to sleep, in fact at any time of the day and night.

I realized that using Facebook was like gambling! I would get hooked to it so much that I actually expected likes and shares for my posts each time I checked my phone. If there was none I would wait for it till the notification came in.

On eat I just deactivated my account on Facebook and uninstalled the app on my phone. The effect has been profound. The entire day was extremely peaceful with not a single notification bothering me. I did not feel compelled to write a post or go post comments.

I felt less stressed at the day.. Mind you the job stress was still there but the total amount of stress was a fraction of the previous day when I still had the account.

There were no notifications when I went to sleep and I slept like a log. Usually I used to get you even in the middle of the night to check Facebook for likes and messages. As a result I woke up much more rested than before.

This great feeling kept on repeating itself day after day. I felt more convinced that it was the best thing that I have done for a long time, that of leaving Facebook and Twitter.

Another observation was that I had very few headaches after I left Facebook. I don't know the exact reason but obviously it must have had to do with the stress caused by contact checking of the sites.

I felt as though suddenly there were more than 24 hours in a day. I felt some kind of freedom if I can put it that way.

I signed up on Steemit many months ago but I haven't been able to post much because I generally stayed away from all social media and blogging sites. But now I am stepping up my participation on the site. I have browsed enough to know a little about steemit and the wonderful community. It is also quite different to Facebook. And hey I can also get paid for my posts!

I am a newbie who wants to succeed on Steemit. Please give my post a boost and resteem it!

Image Source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jillw from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hola @jillw, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
1997 5548 1850 7243
6537 1571 1687 2420
2185 8099 8952 2057
4685 9333 1791 2506

Congratulations @jillw! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48