You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A model for Steemit online education

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is really interesting because, although I wasn't planning on quite doing 1 on 1 instruction situations, one of my aims on steemit is to spread my love and passion for my profession, animation, through a series of educational posts and tutorials of increasing difficulty.

I think one of the "problems" with this model is though, that the classes the instructor puts up are forever viewable by anyone on the blockchain. and while that's great for education in general, it's not so great for the individual teachers at some point because at the end of the day anyone who is disciplined enough to self-teach can go through the material and classes without "paying" for the content.
The only thing I suppose that students would then pay for is the one on one tutoring and assignment corrections.
I mean, I still think it's great, and knowledge should be shared anyway (hence I'm passing on my knowhow too) but it might not end up being super attractive for some people who've spent long years accumulating their knowledge and knowhow.
I don't know...
Interesting concept in any case!

Sort:  

Yeah, that's the big "hole" in the model I'm trying to work out. How do you create some passive income off of the invested time and work creating the course material. This is why I am a proponent of the the 1 on 1 and "grading" model. It allows the students to get valuable feedback from their instructor. I can see well respected instructors in their fields charging quite a bit. Since it is all visible on the blockchain it's verifiable for students which could lead to real world opportunities.

It's also a great way for new professionals and instructors on Steem to gain a following. The one thing more valuable than a large payout is a quality follower. It would be worth putting in the work early even if the payouts aren't high.

Also, there are creative ways to "remonetize" work that has already been published. Revising some of the course material and running another workshop is totally possible, as long as it's altered or refreshed to some degree. You could also publish critiques of student work that could gain upvotes. The possibilities are there, but will require some serious collaboration, creativity, and trial and error, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67475.08
ETH 3475.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65