How Steemit made me realise that BitShares is the best altcoin.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I never realised why Bitshares wasn't just another scamcoin.

Before I came to STEEM.

But I do now. After participating in the STEEM community for a few weeks, I now realise the potential that Bitshares has got. Potential that other altcoins lack on a major basis. I realised that the STEEM cofounder was also the Bitshares co-founder. And the two systems structurally has great similarities.

One of the most attractive option that Bitshares offers to investors as well as general users is the Smartcoins, or BitAssets. They offer a real alternative to other centralized payment gateway. For example, BitUSD. Instead of using, say, a dodgy service like Perfectmoney, you could just use BitUSD to do the job.

The thing that I LOVE most about Bitshares?

Well, there are actually two.

  1. I have the peace of mind that the Bitassets are backed with at least 300% of collateral. Which means, no more dodgy fractional reserve scams. No more ponzi schemes. Even if Bitshares falls over 50% of its value, I've still got more than 100% of my value backed in bitshares.

  2. You can earn a profit on your BTC, gold, silver(If you are a gold/silver bug), without any counterparty risks. If you believe in gold for the long term, you are probably better off holding bitGOLD(not the site) instead of holding physical gold. It's so much easier to liquidate it, and there is going to be a smaller spread(once the market cap gets bigger).The most attractive option to me is BitBTC. There is now no reason to hold your bitcoins in bitcoins anymore. Hold them in bitBTC, and earn interest.

Remember, that all these investments that sound "too good to be true" is actually true! Remember, they are backed by easily liquidable BTS!

If a merchant wants to accept USD, but wants to offer their customers a cryptocurrency solution, then BitUSD is your perfect answer. Not only is it fast and secure, the merchant can also generate a profit out of accepting BitUSD, since BitUSD is worth AT LEAST $1 at all times. But usually, it's a few cents over $1. He can also simply hold the coins, and earn a decent interest.

I was so excited when I learned what BTS really was. I hope you are too, and get to know what it is better.

#Bitshares #Steem

P.S. (For dan) I'm just experiencing some difficulties launching the BTS client on OSX. I've tried all the API connections, none of them work for me though. However, if I accessed the wallet via the web wallet, then it would work all perfectly fine.

It's telling me that "Connection Status NOT CONNECTED".

Any potential fixes that I should try? Anyone else experiencing the same problems?

Sort:  
  • Price-Stable Cryptocurrencies - SmartCoins provide the freedom of cryptocurrency with the stability of the dollar
  • Decentralized Asset Exchange - A fast and fluid trading platform
  • Industrial Performance and Scalability - Graphene is capable of 100,000 TPS when we pay for the network to go with it
  • Dynamic Account Permissions - Management for the corporate environment
  • Recurring & Scheduled Payments - Flexible withdrawal permissions
  • Referral Rewards Program - Network growth through adoption rewards
  • User-Issued Assets - Regulation-compatible cryptoasset issuance
  • Stakeholder-Approved Project Funding - A self-sustaining funding model
  • Transferable Named Accounts - Easy and secure transactions
  • Delegated Proof-of-Stake Consensus - A robust and flexible consensus protocol

Among many other things.

I can not agree more with you 8]

Yeah. Bitshares is still cheap and worth it to buy in right now.

Helping Hand
Upvote incoming @jholdsworthy! :)

I always thought it was a scam coin too, I will research BitShares, Thanks.

Thank you for this valuable info

Upvote for u mate cheers !

Its nice to see people start to see what Bitshares is. Steem is is just a more purpose based version of the sames tech that powers Bitshares. I'm glad Stem has allowed people to gives Bitshares a second look or a better first look.

I am excited about this too. I wished I had known it earlier. But still, not too late to invest in it.

Bitshares does still need some work. Steemit was a chance to apply some of the lessons learned. Nox these lesson can applied back to Bitshares.

A supply of 2.5 billion and growing is a bit ridiculous though is it not? I know it stops in november but still how can you expect the price to be high when the supply is so ridiculously high? I have been considering investing in bitshares but this is whats putting me off, can't imagine how it could be worth even 1 dollar

Supply doesn't matter by itself. A billion pennies equals ten million dollars.

i know, your point?

nice post :)

After so long being at the mercey of the greedy banking elite, we now have a sense of freedom , a light at the end of the tunnel and a tool to wield against them , exciting times indeed. nice post , up voted

That is awesome that you are aware of the situation that we are in. Fractional reserves smells like crap to me.

I need to look more into bitshares, thanks for sharing.

Many people - many opinions. Time will show who is right

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30