You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM DNS - Your username DOT STEEM. DNS on the Blockchain

in #steemit8 years ago

I assume we're going to need some sort of uniqueness constraint available on the json_metadata in order to truly make this work, otherwise what's to prevent two people from using the same name record?

Which leads to an entirely different conversation about the json_metadata field all together, what it could be used for, and what types of rules should exist for it.

Awesome job though! I'm really excited to see projects like this happening :)

Sort:  

It's linked to your username. When you ask for "@" you would get jesta.steem- if you ask for "dev" you would get dev.jesta.steem.

Thanks for the reply

Ahhh I was sort of under the assumption that you could pretty much pick whatever you wanted. But if it's bound to usernames, then that makes sense.

Still, it would be cool if on my jesta account I could add a record for stats.steem with the appropriate DNS :)

Yep, but sadly that would be quite difficult to do without some sort-of side chain. If you had the account "stats" or "steemstats" you get a cool domain though :)

Luckily I have steemstats, stats is by a random user though.

Let the username squatting begin! lol

I am pretty sure that two people could not have the same name record, because you need the private key to change the json_metadata field.
But I agree that the json_metadata field is just all around crazy. It has a lot of potential. You could add stuff like about myself to it. Neat. This just gave me a great idea for screem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42