Why I will continue to write what I want, not the Whales

in #steemit8 years ago

As I sit here thinking about what to write today, I realize the world of words is at my fingertips. So many people come on Steem seeking to impress. I've gotten to a point in my life when I don't care anymore. I don't care if everyone likes me or what I have to say. I'm going to write about whatever I want to write depending on my mindset at any particular time.

We're always worried about Whales

Whales are just like anyone else. They are people. They eat like us, they sleep like us, they wipe their asses like us. Whales have personal opinions and preferences. This is what is reflected in their upvotes.

Not to get too analytical (I am not a math person), yes there are plenty of charts and algorithms floating around that presume what a dolphin or whale is more likely to upvote.

I still don't care

Here's where my lack of giving a shit comes in. I write what I know. I write about things which I enjoy and am familiar with. A whale may or may not like my posts. A few people typically do but I'm not freaking out that I'm not getting the big numbers. One of these days a whale might find what I've written particularly poignant and decide to bless me.

Until then, I will continue to write and post on topics that are near and dear to my heart. There are a lot of things I've learned throughout life. I've done some traveling. I have kids and an ex-husband. I enjoy animals and nature. But there are some fields that are out of my ballpark. Unless I'm posing a question, you won't see me writing on those topics, even if they are the "big money" areas. Why? Because I don't like looking like a dumbass. Me posting on rocket science would be like a florist writing about neurosurgery, if you follow. There are some things that are plain out of my league.

Up, up and away

I do enjoy a challenge though, never one to back away. Hell, I went to law school...just because. I will definitely be stretching my writing legs on here. I think its a great forum for creativity. There is much out there to be told. I'll keep writing and my hope is that even if I don't earn a gazillion bucks on here, what I have to say will impact someone's life....minnow, big fish, dolphin or whale...I don't care.

As the mind flows, so I will write

I'm writing this on my phone from my couch on some pretty sketchy wifi until my laptop is back up and running. The photo above is actually me and much better than any selfie I could take right now being hot and pregnant.

Sort:  

Hopefully you will find that there are many people that can relate to you and appreciate you just the way you are. Yeah, if we spend much time thinking about whether or not people will like us, then we hide some of our genuine selves and miss out on real friendships.

I love the article. I do agree with you :)

Thanks @jessica-miller
Good Work 👍👍👍

See you are very persistent with your blogging
UPVOTES for you
Keep up the good work

Keep doing what you do , as long as you're enjoying it, it's all worth it =)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.3 and reading ease of 89%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69