You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impersonation commited on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

@lgfurmanczyk thank you for sharing about this because I think as Steemit grows this will only continue to be a greater challenge because the platform is based on being censorship resistant which also means more difficultly in stopping things like this. If we work together as you have done I think it will stay at an acceptable level as it seems to be now! For example, most of the trending page seems to be legit results and so far I at least have not seen any impersonator or scam or faker make a lot from Steemit without having their own investment.

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for taking the time to read and comment on the post. It's an honor to have you here. I care about the long-term health of steemit, and I know others do as well. Exposing this scammer isn't something I could do regularly as it took most of a day to do. If the number of scammers goes up faster than the people willing to expose them, then I'm afraid of what damage could be done to Steemit. I definitely like the idea of keeping Steemit open and censorship free as you said. Did you think the Public/Private account ID idea was too radical or could you see it being viable as a way to combat scammers who create a bunch of accounts?

As for now, I think you're right about the trending page being filled with legit results. I'm glad to see things are looking mostly healthy.

If I think about it deeply, the ultimate question I'm trying to ask here is: are volunteers alone enough to keep Steemit healthy if enough bad actors start attacking our community here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49