The Strange Thing That Happens When You Talk About Steemit on Facebook

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Shortly after I became sure that Steemit was the real deal I excitedly tried to tell my friends... through Facebook. I knew that the platform was sort of an organism in and of itself. And I knew that, like all organisms, it has a sense of self-preservation. But I had no idea just how far it would go.

Before Steemit, I was fairly active on FB, and could expect a decent amount of likes and comments on any post I made. So, to spread the word, I tried making a post about Steemit.

Now, I can't prove that the post got sunk. It's possible that people saw it and didn't respond. It's possible that it got naturally sunk in FB's algorithm.

What's strange is what happened after. Form that point forward my posts got less likes and less comments, and this continued for some time. It was almost as if FB was intentionally making me less popular because I dared to even mention Steemit.

Before that point I was still spending my time between FB and Steemit evenly. But FB drew a line in the sand. Jenkinrocket does not respond well to threats, let that be known. That was the point when I became a Steemian fully. Any platform that can be so heinously controlled and that seeks to directly manipulate its users can't be trusted.

Now I'm careful about what I say on FB. Now, when I want to tell someone about Steemit I direct message them on FB, text them, or tell them in person. Because not even FB can let on that it's absorbing our private messages. They don't dare. At least, not yet.

Thank you so much for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please upvote, resteem, and follow!

Source: 1

Follow: @jenkinrocket

Sort:  

jenkinrocket - I am astounded to hear that FB may have resorted to such blocking (indirect) tactics. That chain of events actually emphasizes that Steemit is much more of a platform that promotes a free interaction compared to FB. Thanks for bringing this to the notice of Steemians. Upvoted and followed you

I am mostly into wildlife and travel photography blogs. I would be honored if you check my latest blogs when you have time. Your comments will be very valuable to enrich my experience. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29